We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful English Hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Midland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful English Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you want a typical British non-chain hotel with great service and location this is the place. Wonderful breakfasts, great neighborhood with lots of restaurants, easy access to the tube, Victoria and Albert Museum, Museum of Natural History, and Kensington Park. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
What lovely comments, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and especially our service at The Kensington Hotel. Our team are all thrilled to receive this wonderful and very encouraging feed back and they were delighted to be able to make a difference. We hope it wont be long until you return to see us all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,086
    529
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,153
197
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed here several times. The staff are wonderful. Rooms are well appointed and the location is perfect. A short walk to two Tube stops, or a nice walk to many major attractions. Plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in the area. On our last stay, we were both under the weather and the kitchen was kind enough to make us chicken soup. Really a very nice place to stay while in London.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Deluxe rooms. Also I think it is best to join their frequent guest program (free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandog54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this amazing review. It is fantastic to read how our team continue to exceed your expectations and make your time in London so comfortable. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We won our accommodation through my husband's work and in our opinion, the Kensington Hotel was first class. The staff were very friendly working above and beyond to meet our needs and those of our children by booking suitable tours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this amazing review. It is fantastic to read how our team have managed to exceed your expectations and make your stay so memorable. We are delight to read how much you enjoyed our little touches. At The Kensington Hotel we like our guests to feel relaxed and home from home and we believe it’s these small personal touches that make the difference. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved the hotel and all the staff members were friendly and helpful and the location is the best of all places we have stayed in the area (eight visits to area in past four years) with many pleasant surprises at eating places in Old Brompton Road. Terrific lounge area for enjoying a quiet drink at the end of the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for writing such an amazing review and for recommending us as the best hotel in Kensington. We are delighted that you enjoy every aspect of the hotel, particularly that you find our team to be so professional and helpful. We are proud to be your favourite place to stay in London and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a few days last week and can't wait to return! The Kensington is centrally located to all of the wonderful sights in London, not to mention close to the Tube, bus stops, Kensington Gardens, and terrific restaurants. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable. Love this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Kensington is a true blessing. The staff knew it was my partners birthday and had a little surprise waiting for her, Strawberries and chocolates then 2 glasses of Champagne were delivered to our room. Wonderful!
The friendliness of the whole staff, the comfortable luxury of the rooms and the absolutely delicious breakfast is such a treat. I have stayed here many times and look forward to many more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first stop on our trip. The hotel were very accommodating in holding our luggage while we waited for our room to be ready. Our room was spacious and quiet. The bathroom was of a great size and the bed super comfy. We had the full breakfast included in our room price and I have to say, the omelette was one of the best I have ever even. Thank you also for our lovely bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries in celebration of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,068 in London
3,237 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,701 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing