We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation in London”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #32 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My 20 year old daughter and I just spent 6 days in London and we had a wonderful time at the Kensington Hotel. The hotel is in a very central location and it was easy to get around. The staff was very pleasant. I had the concierge make a few dinner reservations in advance and everything they suggested was terrific. The only thing I would suggest would be to replace the carpet in the room - it wasn't lying flat. But it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

What lovely comments, thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and especially our service at The Kensington Hotel. Our team are all thrilled to receive this wonderful and very encouraging feed back and they were delighted to be able to make a difference. We hope it wont be long until you return to see us all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,951 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We loved staying here, the staff are friendly and warm. The hotel is beautifull and has a real boutique feel to it, very romantic, great for couples who want to get away, also wonderfully located. All in all considered, it is good value for money considering other hotels in this range. I would stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Outstanding & faultless in every way. All the staff we encountered were professional and courteous and did everything possible to make our special one night stay a thoroughly fabulous experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a03227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and particularly that you found our staff so friendly .We believe all our guests need to be treated to the little things that make a difference. We look forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Kensington is a nice hotel. It's in a great location, and was very clean. The room was very small for the price, but that's what you get in London. The staff were very helpful. I would recommend and I would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable and relaxing hotel to stay. George & is a genuinely wonderful host and was very accommodating We have been traveling for weeks and staying here with my partner was wonderful, it was like a brief rest at home in the middle of a long overseas journey. Highly recommend this hotel Few hotels are as clean and as comfortable as with great service Furthermore, this hotel is perfectly situated in London, close to everything. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we would love to comeback soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leora n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

What lovely comments, thank you. We are so pleased it felt like "home” at The Kensington Hotel. George is just thrilled to receive this wonderful feedback; he is delighted to know that he was able to make a difference. We hope it wont be long until you return to see us all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My partner booked deluxe room upgrade. Unfortunately when we arrived it was not the room we had booked. The staff particularly duty manager Amy fell over backwards to make our stay the best she possibly could. The hotel was full and the only room available was the President Suite. The Kensington Hotel picked up the tab and allowed us to stay there. It was the most wonderful experience I have ever had in a hotel. We were treated like royalty and given lovely additional touches such as having our beds turned down with a cool thermos of pineapple juice and chocolates laid out on the bed. Amy wrote us a lovely card to welcome us to the suite and apologised. The four poster bed was huge and so comfortable and the bathroom was to die for with deep roll top bath and a TV in there also. So many first time experiences for me. Well ....Amy and the staff of the Kensington hotel.....thank you so much for a truly wonderful experience you exceeded all our expectations. We can't wait to be able to come back for another stay.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Specialakl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through Secret Escapes so didn't really know what to expect but was hugely delighted.

I called ahead the night before as it was our first wedding anniversary and wanted to let the hotel know. Amy and Laura didn't disappoint and helped make the trip really special for us with a room upgrade and chocolates.

The hotel is stunning inside- every detail thought of and no 'chain' feel. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully put together and very comfortable. The added touches of a nespresso machine, turn down service and luxury bathroom packs add to the overall experience.

We had a full English breakfast as part of the deal and it was wonderful. Luxury ingredients, well presented, stunning dining room and friendly staff. A perfect way to start the day.

Overall, a wonderful hotel. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Would like to try their afternoon tea- looks amazing! Thank you for making our anniversary so special.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelling_Wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#44 of 1,076 in London
3,395 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#12 of 1,076 in London
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £189 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing