We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Experience”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“London Experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter who is 14 and I stayed for 1 week. The hotel and all of the staff were to notch, I wouldn't change a thing. Great location and lots of great restaurants close by. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. WiFi worked very well. Over all, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet & Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a lovley review. Our team are over the moon with your comments and the chef is delighted to know that you found our breakfast to be "Superb".
We all look forward to your next visit to The Kensington Hotel. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    528
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,152
197
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for just one night (alas) in early August. Can't wait to return. Spacious well appointed room with good AC ( actually had HOT weather - amazing ). Gorgeous communal areas, bar, restaurant, lobby, gym etc. all has the air of an exclusive gentleman's club. ( No not that type of club, the respectable type..). Impeccable service, great location. Staff really can't do enough to make your stay special. Great value for the standard offered, if in London on business or holiday, I defy you to find better for the price. Don't hesitate, just book it>

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you! We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. We hope you will stay longer too on your next visit to your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A reasonable hotel with some positives and negatives to match. A beautifully furnished hotel both in reception and rooms alike. The concierge is excellent and this makes a huge difference. Lovely refresher towels on checkin and bottles of water on check out. That's where it ends.

The room was quite large and had a good size bathroom. With all that bathroom space why they make the shower half a meter wide I have no idea...

On the first day we arrived we were not allowed to rest! Firstly someone arrived at our door offering some club membership whilst we were trying to get some shut eye, and then once awake and in the shower the maintenance man simply let himself in waking up my partner and well actually giving us quite a fright! A few hours later the LOUD fire alarm went off, again waking us up and alarming us at the same time. We called reception to find out what was going on and were told please ignore it, they are testing things. Perhaps a heads up is a good idea and how about doing the test at mid day????

We had late night restaurant bookings at a few Gordon Ramsay restaurants and hence left around 21:00, no turn down service was therefore done even though I informed them of this when leaving. That's just not going the extra mile at all...

The rooms are loud, we specifically requested in advance a quiet room but due to the plumbing going all night and the fact that anyone walking in the corridor causes a large creaking sound up the walls it seems rather unlikely to get one.

Excellent location though and good turn down service when it is done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the elevators, it may help? Lock your doors!!! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us, particularly that you found our concierge team to be so friendly. It was disappointing to hear about the issues you experienced and I would like to assure you that these matters have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel knows service...from helping me book tickets to Wimbledon, arranging airport transfers, booking dinner reservations, this concierge staff is the tops! Max, Marthign, Chanchal and Julian at the front desk made our stay just perfect! The rooms were nice, but it's the staff that makes this hotel and its location. Looked forward to returning to this lovely neighborhood after a long day of playing tourist. The are many pubs and nice restaurants all in close proximity. It was a treat to be able to walk to a local restaurant and not have to deal with any transport ion, although it is super easy to maneuver the underground. I must mention the extraordinary grace and concern that Max took with an elderly woman who was lost. He was able to track her family down. She had been missing for 2 days! It was truly the most dear action I have witnessed in many years. Having people care about people! Congratulations to The Kensington Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. It is always wonderful to read when our team have exceeded our guest’s expectations. I have shared your comments with Vincent and he and all the concierge team were delighted that they were able to make your stay so memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location, facilities, and staff were outstanding. This is an ideal hotel to stay for a trip to London to see both local sites as well as plan day excursions to Bath, Windsor, Althorp and others. It is a simple walk through a lovely neighborhood to both the South Kensington Tube station (5 min) and to Kensington Gardens/Kensington Palace (15 min...just might see Kate, William and George), and a few free museums (10min to Natural history museum and Victoria and Albert Museum)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin & Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to agree, the area of South Kensington ticks all the boxes, not only are we walking distance from all the best museums and parks f. I would like to thank you also for your kind comments about our team, they are all delighted that they were able to make you feel so special and hope it won’t be long until you next visit to The Kensington Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 1 night for a business trip. Lovely room on top floor, very small but adequate for just myself. Great location walking distance to shops although Kings Street was quite a long walk! Got the tube back. Staff very attentive and friendly. Didn't have breakfast or food. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that we managed to exceed your expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Four nights in August in hot London and the hotel was, except for minor niggles with forgetful wait staff, exceptional. On arrival, the welcoming smiles from reception, apologies for the room not ready - we did arrive early and advice about a great pub for lunch - "this is my favourite" offers Gillian were a very good start. The location, a short walk to the South Ken Tube, with plenty of restaurants and pubs and easy access (Oyster Card essential) to every part of London is perfect. Rooms spotless and most comfortable. Bathroom elegant and amenities excellent. Definitely would go back as first choice.

Room Tip: No noise problems inspite of location over busy Old Brompton Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We are so pleased to read how well you were looked after, we certainly do have some real stars who all genuinely enjoy making all our guests feel special. We are very proud of every one of our team members and it is great to receive such wonderful feedback .I hope you will make The Kensington Hotel your home in London and I look forward to meeting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,235 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,697 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing