We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly situated with great service”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“perfectly situated with great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I and family stayed here and we both loved it. The hotel was lovely. Our own room was nice and clean and everything was like it was described. We loved the towels and the beautiful interior of the hotel.
The staffs were really helpful and gave us good advices of many things and were always happy to answer any of our questions.
Neighbourhood is lovely and peaceful; it had nice restaurants, cafes and also wonderful markets in Portobello on Saturdays. We had easy access by subways and it was always pleasant to come back to Kensington to relax. Thank you…thank you for a wonderful experience, we would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leiticia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for this amazing review and your recommendation. I am so pleased you enjoyed your experience and found our location to be so great and w all hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back before long to relax and enjoy our beauitful spaces. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    528
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,152
197
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upon arrival we were given a superior twin room. The bathroom was so small that you could not fully open the bathroom door as it bashed into the toilet, nor could you open the shower door as it also bashed into the toilet. Tiles on the bathroom floor were loose and the room was not at all like the gorgeous pics displayed on the website. I repeatedly called the front desk and was told they would call back in 5 minutes - 30 minutes later I went down to the front desk and was told - quite nastily - that there was not availability for a change and that rooms in London are small. I was not happy! But the next day - the wonderful day manager offered us a new room - absolutely gorgeous - and large with a beautiful bathroom - she could not have been more pleasant to deal with and even sent along a hand written note of apology with passes to the Victoria and Albert Museum exhibits. I was so impressed with their customer service and will definitly stay there again and will also stay at other Doyle properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laspin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovley review.To know that you thought so highly our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all and we are also delighted to know that you liked the second room so much. In relation to the issues you experienced I would like to assure you that these matters have been addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute with good expectations after reading previous reviews. Arrived and checked in very quickly. The room allocated was nothing like the ones shown in the pictures on the web site. First impression was not great as the room was small, dark and had no view. The furnishings were tired with a torn lamp shade and chipped bath. After some time in the room decided that three nights in this room may be to much to bare as a bit depressing.

Went to reception and spoke with Gillian Front Office Manager who said that she would look into it and change our room. Returned to reception after a couple hours to be advised that we had been allocated a different room, packed our belongings and moved to a lovely room. Gillian was very helpful and apologetic. The Kensington is a lovely hotel with clean, bright public rooms the bar is well run with helpful staff and nibbles served with your drinks a very nice touch.

The location of the hotel is good with lots of attractions within walking distance it is also served by a good selection of cafés an restaurants.

We had a good trip to London and enjoyed our stay at the Kensington Hotel it's a shame that our first impression was not a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel from check in to check out. We have shared your comments with our team and they were all very proud. We are delighted to know that you will be returning to us soon and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our initial impressions were not good. We were allocated a Superior(??) double on the 5th floor. A large bed in a room big enough to comfortably fit a single bed. There was about an inch to spare at one side of the foot of the bed due to the built in wardrobe unit. The worst thing about the room though was the noise from above which sounded like a cement mixer. This went on until the early hours of the morning having although we alerted Reception as soon as we noticed it. We probably would have checked out after one night but the Management absolutely bent over backwards to resolve matters by moving us to a far superior room on the 2nd floor. We cannot fault their service and attitude to our discomfort and therefore we would not hesitate to return.
Continental breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of food. We did not have anything cooked but that was our choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor and especially Room 522!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Extrafussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of The Kensington Hotel.
We are very blessed to have a great team who love to say “yes” and genuinely care for all of our guests. In relation to the issue you encountered in your bedroom I would like to assure you that this matter has been addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend for two nights and were very happy with the accommodations and service. Everything was clean, comfortable, spacious, and taken care of while we were out of the room. They provided bathrobes, the weather report, newspapers and never bothered us once. Plus, it is in walking distance to shopping and Portobello St and there are a couple of fun bars in the direct area of the hotel. All in all I wish we could go back right now.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nykatherine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you! Your are welcome to come back anytime and no time like the present. We are so please to know how much you enjoyed staying with us here at The Kensington Hotel and are waiting to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My daughter who is 14 and I stayed for 1 week. The hotel and all of the staff were to notch, I wouldn't change a thing. Great location and lots of great restaurants close by. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was superb. The hotel was spotless and very comfortable. WiFi worked very well. Over all, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet & Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What a lovley review. Our team are over the moon with your comments and the chef is delighted to know that you found our breakfast to be "Superb".
We all look forward to your next visit to The Kensington Hotel. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for just one night (alas) in early August. Can't wait to return. Spacious well appointed room with good AC ( actually had HOT weather - amazing ). Gorgeous communal areas, bar, restaurant, lobby, gym etc. all has the air of an exclusive gentleman's club. ( No not that type of club, the respectable type..). Impeccable service, great location. Staff really can't do enough to make your stay special. Great value for the standard offered, if in London on business or holiday, I defy you to find better for the price. Don't hesitate, just book it>

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits P, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you! We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. We hope you will stay longer too on your next visit to your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,235 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,697 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Doyle Collection, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing