We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place tasty icecream but overpriced”
Review of Gelato Mio

Gelato Mio
Ranked #231 of 409 Dessert in London
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place tasty icecream but overpriced”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I went to Gelato Mio on Holland Park Avenue last friday. I had purchased a Groupon voucher which was £9 for one scoop of icecream on a waffle with sauce and a drink of your choice (apparantly worth £19). I had a scoop of the chocolate icecream, caramel sauce and a strawberry milkshake. I have to say, the icecream is delicious! The milkshake too as they whip those up from a scoop of the icecream. The service was great as they bought the milkshake and icecream to our table :) friendly staff. I can see why there are so many great reviews of this place but for what it is I do think it is a little overpriced which is why I wouldn't return. I would be a bit gutted if I had spent £19 on the same thing, not having the voucher. For a treat once in a while its a lovely place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayville, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Gelato and Great help”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Title says it all. Really, REALLY nice folks with a tasty product. Located on a bust street among many restaurants which will lose dessert customers to this relatively inexpensive choice. Is it Gelato of Italy? No, but VERY close. The servers were the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1921Pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and....”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Ok, a delicious guilty pleasure, gelato is, but if you are going to indulge then it should be worth the guilt and this place is! Love the gelato and the sundaes and even their sandwiches are good. I also saw the guitarist from the Rolling Stones here, Ronnie Wood - nice guy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh. My. Gawd!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

honestly. this place is AMAZING... everything so well resonably priced and and so overly tasty I couldn't believe I hadn't been there before! I will defo be going back for more! perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zafren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not just Ice Cream”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We often end our evening in Gelato Mio in Holland Park for an ice cream in the summer but we also go in the winter for coffee and a cookie or cake. The people are always friendly and there is free WiFi.They also have a loyalty card.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagpieSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelato Mio also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Gelato Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing