We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night top grub and brilliant cocktails !!”
Review of Chez Mal

Chez Mal
Ranked #2,261 of 23,592 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: A seductive and seriously sexy bar and brasserie based in the famous Charterhouse Square, the Malmaison Brasserie is beautifully chic and contemporary, with mood enhancing down lighting and a lively atmosphere. With the a la carte menu changing seasonally, the wholesome, modern British cuisine is always first class. Alongside a separate menu of locally produced food, the extensive wine list reflects the brassiere's 'serious about wine' culture and will indulge your every need. The laid back bar area is popular with business folk looking to chill out after work over a few beers and cocktails, whilst the restaurant offers plenty of cosy corners and nooks for private chats. The Malmaison Brasserie is also a great choice for groups with semi-private vaults and a fabulous private dining room overlooking the brasserie. Coupled with the friendly, knowledgeable serving staff, an evening here will undoubtedly be a huge success.
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently and booked the Strip & Steak House in the basement for dinner.. It was awesome ! First off the cocktails. I had no idea what a rocking horse martini was but it's worth coming here for the cocktails alone.. All your favourites plus newies I guess invented by the very nice mixologist ( cocktail man ) have a rocky one .. it's off the scale. ..Comes with popcorn on the side ! Food is excellent as is the service and to top it all off there is a deal on now where all food off the a la carte menu is half price.. Book through top table I think.. So steak chips and two sides will cost 20 pounds. Bargain ! Nice reasonably priced wine list too so no excuses for not filling your boots ! Enjoy !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Stripbar & Steak for such a special occasion, we were delighted to help the celebrations. Your feedback is much appreciated by the team, and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful meal in the private dining room. As the doors were closed it offered us the ability to have a conversation without shouting (which would have happened in the other area). We opted for the set menu - perfect portion sizes and extremely tasty food. Wine selection was very good and reasonably priced. Overall a splendid evening - would return and recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your private dinner with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food and wine and hope to welcome you back to Stripbar & Steak soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Another amazing evening in Malmaison, food, service, ambience all amazing. Had dinner here so many times and will recommend to everyone.
Had the strip steak and I have it well done, at other establishments this would have been tough as old boots but not here was amazing, melted in the mouth. Don't get me started on the green beans with feta WOW!!!!!
Excellent :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your dinner with us, We're delighted that you choose to come and see us regularly and enjoy the whole experience. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On Friday night it was transformed to a Champagne Bar, for trendy young things. We were discreetly moved around a corner in guess because we didn't look like trendy young things. However, the cocktails were good!

Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Heather,
Thank you for your review of our beautiful new bar, which is the same beautiful Champagne bar every night of the week! We're delighted that you enjoyed the cocktails. I do apologise that your table was moved, and can assure you it not about trendiness (we welcome and enjoy serving everyone!) and more than likely because of a larger party reserving the bar.
We hope to welcome you back to Mal London soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a great night out to the Strip Bar & Steak with friends. The cocktails are very special, as in a great mix of classics and unusual new ones that we hadn't had before. Worth going just for that!

The food was excellent. The staff superb.

We had to wait a little at the beginning as they were super busy, but ended up having a fabulous night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ilonanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks Ilona, for your trip advisor review of your experience at Stripbar & Steak. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your cocktails and your evening and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Mal also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing