We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip steak and skin on fries - the perfect business lunch!”
Review of Chez Mal

Chez Mal
Ranked #2,494 of 24,239 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$36
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
Description: A seductive and seriously sexy bar and brasserie based in the famous Charterhouse Square, the Malmaison Brasserie is beautifully chic and contemporary, with mood enhancing down lighting and a lively atmosphere. With the a la carte menu changing seasonally, the wholesome, modern British cuisine is always first class. Alongside a separate menu of locally produced food, the extensive wine list reflects the brassiere's 'serious about wine' culture and will indulge your every need. The laid back bar area is popular with business folk looking to chill out after work over a few beers and cocktails, whilst the restaurant offers plenty of cosy corners and nooks for private chats. The Malmaison Brasserie is also a great choice for groups with semi-private vaults and a fabulous private dining room overlooking the brasserie. Coupled with the friendly, knowledgeable serving staff, an evening here will undoubtedly be a huge success.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The quickest review I have ever written....if you want a quick but classy and delicious business lunch, go here and have the strip steak and skin on fries....delicious and simple, quick and a reasonably quiet venue for some business.

I bet this place is much livelier and more fun in the evenings, but it does the trick and is a bit more private than many of the neighbouring Smithfield venues.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Matt,
Thanks for your wonderfully positve review of your lunch with us at Stripbar & Steak. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

A group (30) of us came from far and wide for a reunion at malmaison. So disappointing. So many complaints from everyone. The food was obviously left overs from a previous function. They laid out on a table, some tired wraps, a cold bowl of curry, a lentil salad, and another salad no one could recognise..basically it was in edible. The piece to resistance was a rice pudding with a dollop of chutney in the middle. The coffe was stone cold and even when we asked for it to be replaced this was refused in a surly manner. Obviously the hotel has ' issues' ' but it would NEVER recommend this place for reunions for St Bartholomews hospital to anyone.

1  Thank Ballater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for feedback following your reunion with us. We do apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We have been in touch with the organiser of your luncheon. I can assure you that the food we serve is made and cooked freshly onsite everyday and unfortauntely because there was a miscommunication with regards to the arrival and seating time of your party, this did affect the temperature of the dishes. The feedback we received from the organiser was that the main course was good and the overall the reunion was a success.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently and booked the Strip & Steak House in the basement for dinner.. It was awesome ! First off the cocktails. I had no idea what a rocking horse martini was but it's worth coming here for the cocktails alone.. All your favourites plus newies I guess invented by the very nice mixologist ( cocktail man ) have a rocky one .. it's off the scale. ..Comes with popcorn on the side ! Food is excellent as is the service and to top it all off there is a deal on now where all food off the a la carte menu is half price.. Book through top table I think.. So steak chips and two sides will cost 20 pounds. Bargain ! Nice reasonably priced wine list too so no excuses for not filling your boots ! Enjoy !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for choosing Stripbar & Steak for such a special occasion, we were delighted to help the celebrations. Your feedback is much appreciated by the team, and we do hope we can welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a wonderful meal in the private dining room. As the doors were closed it offered us the ability to have a conversation without shouting (which would have happened in the other area). We opted for the set menu - perfect portion sizes and extremely tasty food. Wine selection was very good and reasonably priced. Overall a splendid evening - would return and recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your private dinner with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the food and wine and hope to welcome you back to Stripbar & Steak soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Another amazing evening in Malmaison, food, service, ambience all amazing. Had dinner here so many times and will recommend to everyone.
Had the strip steak and I have it well done, at other establishments this would have been tough as old boots but not here was amazing, melted in the mouth. Don't get me started on the green beans with feta WOW!!!!!
Excellent :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmaison L, Manager at Chez Mal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your dinner with us, We're delighted that you choose to come and see us regularly and enjoy the whole experience. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Mal also viewed

 

Been to Chez Mal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing