We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to meet clients, highest quality formal dining & brasserie”

IoD - Institute of Directors
Ranked #3,318 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$52
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: The Restaurant on the ground floor of 116 Pall Mall is open for all-day dining. Serving British and European dishes, where possible every ingredient is locally sourced and chosen for its seasonality. Head Chef Roger Evans has over 40 years' experience working in Michelin star restaurants and also trained Gordan Ramsay. The Restaurant menus have been carefully crafted with a passion for showcasing high quality ingredients and classic flavour combinations. The space offers an elegant environment to meet friends, entertain clients or relax after a day of work.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent location to meet clients, highest quality formal dining & brasserie”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The IoD in Pall Mall has excellent facilities for members and I often use it to meet clients. There are 3 places in which I've eaten: The morning room serves light meals and sandwiches, the brasserie has an excellent menu with very good but not an overly formal atmosphere and the formal dining room which is superb. Definitely an impressive but comfortable venue for an important formal meal. The atmosphere is formal but not at all stuffy, and it is a great choice as a female member for entertaining. I haven't experienced the patchy service highlighted by other reviewers.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shetland traveller
Level Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, understated style, lovely service”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

An important meeting in London with clients, so I organised dinner at the IoD. Been a female member here for nearly 15 years and I use this restaurant for clients and for special family occasions. The booking process, service and food on this visit were superb as ever. I like the fact that they post the menu online. The restaurant itself is beautifully apppointed and the service is superb. The venison was manna for the palate and the trio of desserts was a true indulgence. My clients, like me, were very, very, impressed. Best restaurant in central London in my opinion! :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
425 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Brasserie is good with friendly service. But formal restaurant is very grand food can be good but service very patchy....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Restaurant was excellent for pre-theatre dinner.”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Been a member for over 10 years, but always eaten in the Brasserie or the Wine Bar (basement). Indeed, didn't even know of The Restaurant (ground Floor). When I called to confirm suitability, the Maitre d' was most welcoming - he actually sounded as though he wanted us to come - so we did!

Style is 'classic London Club' - large pictures on walls, round tables with plenty of room and privacy in room shared with cocktail bar. Pianist appeared at about 18.00 which made for a good atmosphere.

Food was excellent: 8 or so choices per course meant something for everyone. Tempura prawns were delightful. One of the cheaper wines (£26 French Pinot Noir) was remarkably drinkable - very fortunate because the price range was as extensive as the list!

Service lived up to the welcome on the telephone; attentive but not overbearing staff who were knowledgeable on the menu, wine list etc.

.......and when the bill came, extremely good value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mewsdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“The Brasserie can be hit or miss”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I've had lunch here several times, usually quite good but not always! It's a fantastic room with a good atmosphere and is usually quite busy. The menu and wine are fairly priced for central London.

On a previous occasion one of my fellow diners had fish-cakes that had been burnt on one side and were served burnt-side down. A letter of complaint about that and other issues resulted in a free return trip, so they at least tried to rectify the failure.

This time, three of us had selections from their Christmas Menu. It was OK but not memorable. Two of us had turkey that without doubt was bought in pre-cooked and sliced and warmed up. Good enough for a pub maybe but not at all good enough for that type of establishment. Undercooked carrots and sprouts.

I have also eaten in the much grander 'Restaurant'. On the whole good quality food but with prices to match the very large and grand room that can sometimes lack atmosphere if there aren't enough people dining.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-in-Brighton-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IoD - Institute of Directors also viewed

 

Been to IoD - Institute of Directors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing