We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ambiance and service, food was ok”
Review of HIX Mayfair

HIX Mayfair
Ranked #953 of 23,379 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$105
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: One of the best restaurants in London, the HIX Mayfair menu is all about big British flavours handled deftly and with sophistication. Mixed beets with Cashel blue. Norfolk treacle tart with clotted cream. Each plate as much of a work of art as the Tracey Emin and Bridget Riley that hang on the walls.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A lovely, warm relaxed setting with friendly and professional staff. Great art on the walls, good lighting, comfortable seating, and a good (but not loud) buzz of conversation created a great atmosphere for dinner. The menu was interesting and we loved our starters/snacks of padron pepper, scotch eggs and a sheep's cheese salad. Our main course of a chicken between two was ok but a bit heavy and dull. The stuffing in particular was disappointingly tasteless. Overall it was good hearty fare, not fine dining. The wine list seemed a bit out of step with the food. Although there were bottles in the £40 plus range, many of the wines were much more expensive (up to the £4k range). Maybe their target audience is wine connoisseurs with hearty appetites and bulging wallets?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found the chcken for two disappointing, heavy and tasetless. Our wine list we aim to price for value and also for those who wish to spend a little more, with wines starting at £32. Thank you once again for your comments which have allowed us to follow through with the teams concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 343 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The food and the service here are excellent and I would unhesitatingly recommend the restaurant for those qualities. We went for a late lunch with a couple of friends and we chose Hix not only because of the good reviews but also because of the £30/£35 table d'hôtel menu. This was indeed very good value but I did feel ripped off by the price of wine and tea/coffee. One of the least expensive wines was a French country red at £49 a bottle; a pot of fresh mint tea for one (i.e. hot water poured over mint leaves) cost over £5. Hence our final bill of £240, a 12.5% service charge having been added as well. So, a touch of the curate's egg, good in part.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for commending the food and service as excellent. Our wines start at £32, and both tea and coffee are served as many times as required without any additional charge. Our 12.5% service charge is discretionary and optional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The food was very good quality and tasted great. The steak was my favorite dish and was cooked perfectly. The service was attentive and professional, our waitress was very friendly and gave a good service. Luckily we booked because it was busy and almost completely full.
Definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blisztl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of Hix and all it offers in the way of tasty, good quality food delivered with excellent service. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a long thin restaurant, slightly lacking in ambience, but the food is interesting and excellent. No music, thank goodness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for complimenting our interesting food. I hope you will return in the future to try other well presented dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Booked our table on the morning we wanted to lunch. The moment you walk in, you are welcomed. It's a warm, curious atmosphere. Lots of different people dinning here, which makes it feel more relaxed.
We ordered off the lunch buffet menu, only because the food we wanted was on that menu. Could not fault the impeccable service and the standard of food was delicious.
The wine menu was good, although would have liked to see a wider range of Malbec, but we were served an amazing alternative.
Overall, a lovely place to stop by for lunch in Mayfair. I would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your superb review of lunch at Hix following your recent visit. We like to offer our guests excellent food and service in a relaxed atmosphere and I am pleased to know you enjoyed the same. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HIX Mayfair also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to HIX Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing