We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mundane”
Review of HIX Mayfair

HIX Mayfair
Ranked #957 of 23,391 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$106
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: One of the best restaurants in London, the HIX Mayfair menu is all about big British flavours handled deftly and with sophistication. Mixed beets with Cashel blue. Norfolk treacle tart with clotted cream. Each plate as much of a work of art as the Tracey Emin and Bridget Riley that hang on the walls.
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Food was unspectacular and did not live up to the description in the menu....my taste buds were ready but were kept waiting.
Lovely room and satisfactory service.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for complimenting the room and service. I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience and hope you will return on a future occasion when we will aim to satisfy your waiting taste buds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

This restaurant serves dishes from many England's regions. England is not famous for its cuisine, but this restaurant may change your mind. I had a fantastic entrée of aspargus with hollandaise sauce and for main course, deer. The deer was really amazing and tasty, cooked to perfection. Wine list offers some good options.

Thank David_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of the excellent English cuisine you sampled on your recent visit. I do hope you will return to try more tasty dishes from our menu..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Really can't speak highly enough of the staff. Really went to every effort to make our experience a great one. Food was delicious and the setting of the restaurant is beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenks186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your appreciation of the service and enthusiasm for the food and restaurant setting. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A lovely, warm relaxed setting with friendly and professional staff. Great art on the walls, good lighting, comfortable seating, and a good (but not loud) buzz of conversation created a great atmosphere for dinner. The menu was interesting and we loved our starters/snacks of padron pepper, scotch eggs and a sheep's cheese salad. Our main course of a chicken between two was ok but a bit heavy and dull. The stuffing in particular was disappointingly tasteless. Overall it was good hearty fare, not fine dining. The wine list seemed a bit out of step with the food. Although there were bottles in the £40 plus range, many of the wines were much more expensive (up to the £4k range). Maybe their target audience is wine connoisseurs with hearty appetites and bulging wallets?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cambersberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found the chcken for two disappointing, heavy and tasetless. Our wine list we aim to price for value and also for those who wish to spend a little more, with wines starting at £32. Thank you once again for your comments which have allowed us to follow through with the teams concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The food and the service here are excellent and I would unhesitatingly recommend the restaurant for those qualities. We went for a late lunch with a couple of friends and we chose Hix not only because of the good reviews but also because of the £30/£35 table d'hôtel menu. This was indeed very good value but I did feel ripped off by the price of wine and tea/coffee. One of the least expensive wines was a French country red at £49 a bottle; a pot of fresh mint tea for one (i.e. hot water poured over mint leaves) cost over £5. Hence our final bill of £240, a 12.5% service charge having been added as well. So, a touch of the curate's egg, good in part.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for commending the food and service as excellent. Our wines start at £32, and both tea and coffee are served as many times as required without any additional charge. Our 12.5% service charge is discretionary and optional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HIX Mayfair also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to HIX Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing