We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, exquisitely served with loving care”
Review of HIX Mayfair

HIX Mayfair
Ranked #901 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$102
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: One of the best restaurants in London, the HIX Mayfair menu is all about big British flavours handled deftly and with sophistication. Mixed beets with Cashel blue. Norfolk treacle tart with clotted cream. Each plate as much of a work of art as the Tracey Emin and Bridget Riley that hang on the walls.
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, exquisitely served with loving care”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went for Sunday lunch on 25th May for our wedding anniversary, first we visited the bar, Donovan's and enjoyed a bottle of champagne and some lovely nibbles. Then we went to our table at Hix all relaxed and the staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. We had some delicious food which was presented beautifully. The food was all delicious and we would definitely recommend to our friends and for future visits for us. Can't wait to go again, the attention to detail and service was superb, just as I like it, they were there when you needed them and disappeared when you didn't, taking care of their clients. The restaurant is nicely furnished and we loved the booth we were shown to, again care being taken to ensure we were happy with our table. I have attached lots of pics too. Only negative if there is one, the champagne and wines were very pricey but hey we were in Mayfair so what should we have expected. It was a wedding anniversary I will always remember. Champagne starting at £78 and red wine starting at £53 a bottle. But you only live once.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Brown's is a place where people come to celebrate the special occasions in heir lives and I am pleased to know that your wedding anniversary lunch was such a success from the first sip of champagne through each mouthful of delicious food, and the service exactly to your liking. Thank you for your glowing review. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many future celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    145
    74
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I have used some of the private dining rooms at this hotel before but today was my first visit to the restaurant. The dining room occupies a lovely space, high ceilings and plenty of light and space makes for a very enjoyable atmosphere.
Lovely seasonal menu with plenty of good UK produce, service was attentive but not over the top. Most delicious lunch of pan fried sweetbreads followed by some lovely cod.
Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your very favourable review of Hix Mayfair and its focus on seasonal dishes and first class local produce. I am pleased to know you had such an enjoyable lunch and that you will be back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice meal, better bar though!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had steak when we came and it was very nice, although have had better for a lot less money, Service was great and the sides where good. The starts where superb.
After our meal we went downstairs for some cocktails and these where really good.
I would come back again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of both the restaurant and our excellent bar. I am pleased you enjoyed good food and good service and we shall look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“High class, delicious British food; expensive, but worth it.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I've been to Hix's original Dorset coastal retail and and tonight as my first visit to any of his London restaurants - and I wasn't disappointed. Tasty British meats and fish served in beautiful classy surroundings of Browns Hotel - with exemplary service. 2 courses each and 2 bottles of wine for a total of £160 - not cheap, but well worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Noticing that you are a top contributor with many restaurant reviews, we particularly value your praise of Hix Mayfair and its excellent, tasty food and faultless service. Thank you for your comments and we shall look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Group of 8 and it's brilliant service impeccable”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We went with a group of 8 to celebrate a deal and Hixs at browns didn't disappoint.

Highly recommend the fillet on the bone which is excellent and the prawn cocktail fantastic.

Will be returning in the next 10 days with the wife all round 10 out of ten.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartJohnsonLondon, General Manager at HIX Mayfair, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your 'top marks' recommendation of Hix Mayfair. I am pleased you and your party enjoyed our excellent fare, and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HIX Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to HIX Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing