We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - need a few more waiters”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mezza Express & Grill - CLOSED

Mezza Express & Grill
Price range: US$8 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Camden
Description: When Mezza Express & Grill first opened in 2006, the owners had one guiding idea: to create a restaurant which brought all the traditions of Lebanese hospitality, ambiance and cuisine to Camden Town. Head chef crafted a menu which uses only the freshest and best quality ingredients to reproduce the dishes his grandmother cooked for him as a child. He wanted to recapture the warmth and atmosphere of his family kitchen, bring it to London, and share with new friends and old what authentic Lebanese dining means to him. It is one of his principles that the food he creates should be shared and enjoyed, and it is for this reason that Mezza Express & Grill operates on a principle of affordability, without compromising on quality.Meanwhile, there was designed a welcoming dining area inspired by Lebanese art and architecture, using simple stone arrangements embedded into the walls of the dining area to recreate the idea of the Lebanese landscape. Owner found himself reminiscing with customers and friends about the chawarmas (pita meat wraps) and grilled meat or fish dishes his grandmother would make for his family when he was a child. [Head chef] attempted to recreate the dishes using English cooking equipment, but the results were never quite the same as the tasty, aromatic food he recalled, so the owner arranged for a traditional, charcoal Lebanese indoor grill to be shipped to Britain so he could re-create and share the dishes of his youth. Now the grill has arrived and been installed and we all look forward to finally being able to pay homage to their grandmother's recipes by sharing with you the food they love.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food - need a few more waiters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

This places gets the stars for the food - we were first in at 6.30pm for dinner and even though they;d been open a while it felt a little like we were in the way at first. It got much better as it went on but they were short handed and more focused on take away orders at times.

Worth a visit for well priced food and a decent room but be prepared for a degree of slow service (but when they do appear they are very friendly!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked this as an easy pre-cinema meal, but the service was terrible from the word go. It took 20 minutes for the frankly rude waitress to take our order. Then we had a succession of lukewarm mezze dishes, served in dribs and drabs, again as far as 20+ minutes apart from first to last. The meat dishes were pretty good (though sadly they turned up last), but avoid the pastry dishes like the plague. The Lebanese wine left a lot to be desired, especially at 27 quid! I appreciate they are having some building work done at the moment, so maybe usual order was disrupted, but I certainly wouldn't hurry back there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobsinclayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“What a massive waste of time and money...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked this restaurant for my sisters birthday on a Friday night. I thought it would be a pretty pleasant experience given the positive reviews on Tripadvisor.

We arrived at 7pm, and to be honest, the starters were positive. They weren't overwhelming, but definitely positive and plentiful. There were 18 guests altogether, and they were all well fed in the starters.
Vine Leaves: (4/10)- Really not nice tasting at all. Little rice and tomato, overwhelmed by the vine leaf and lemon.
Hummus (7/10): Nice hummus, but the chick peas in the centre were undercooked and lacked seasoning.
Falafel (8/10): Tasted good, needed more sauce though.
Sojok (8/10): Again, nice tasting
Fatayer (5/10): Spinach was unseasoned. Wasn't very nice overall.
My girlfriend and I also ordered 2 extra dishes:
Sambousek (8/10): Tasted good with light pastry
Spicy Potato (8/10)

The problems began after the starters. We waited for 90 minutes between starters and main courses! 90 minutes! After asking the waiters and owner repeatedly in the first 30 mins, response seemed minimal. Only after 45 mins when I walked over to the grill, did I see the cooks put the kebabs on the grill. Disgraceful! Everyone was getting hungry and annoyed, and the more I was told it was being seen to, the actual fact that it wasn't!

Now, we expected decent portions for the main course. Again, disgraceful! Between 6 people we had 3 chicken shish's and 2 lamb kofta's! Are you kidding me! That's 2 pieces of chicken and half a lamb kofta for main course! And that is off the set menu! That came with 1 piece of bread. The rice was only brought out after I requested in to be, and the salad was enough to feed a child. No sauce, no quality. It was a disaster and a disgrace. Not only being 90 mins after being served, but served with so little!

I gave the owner a deadline of 9.45pm that I needed to be out. It got so late that I asked the desserts to be brought out with the mains. And we didn't even have time for tea or coffee.

The meal was worth £6 or £7 from a local take away place, but being charged £20 per person was a rip off. Not worth it in any way. I was hugely disappointed by the place- and that too on my sister's birthday.

Will never visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Waiters were friendly and welcoming..Food here was amazing..Best mixed grill I've had..Service was excellent..Another visit is pending!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
306 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good selection of dishes on the "pre-theatre meal deal"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Was going to a gig and planning on eating elsewhere but noticed a "pre-Theatre Meal" offer so gave this a try. Great value meal - not quite up the standards of the Lebanese cuisine that I came to love in the Middle East, but still good and excellent value for money comparing to other restaurants / pubs in the area. Well worth a visit to enjoy the numerous small dishes provided. We were very happy and would go there again if in the area

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LamplighterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezza Express & Grill also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing