We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent ambiance, great service and fab british food”

The Alfred Tennyson
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 4/15
20:00
Ranked #1,355 of 23,597 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$69
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Victoria
Transit: Knightsbridge & Hype Park Corner are the closest tube stations (10 minute walk).
Description: Your much loved neighbourhood pub The Pantechnicon Rooms has been re-named 'The Alfred Tennyson'. The pub remains part of the Cubitt House collection of public houses and hotels. The pub offers simple well executed menus with fresh dishes and an excellent grill section. This established bar and restaurant offers lunch, dinner, weekend breakfast and an all day Sunday roast. The ground floor bar is a vibrant, relaxed and inviting space whilst the dining room on the first floor provides a more elegant and quieter atmosphere. The Boardroom on the second floor and The Loft on the top floor are available for private hire.
Reviewed 17 March 2015

As a group of 6 we enjoyed a tremendous evening dinner here. the setting is really authentic British 'old school'. The staff were brilliant - attentive and clearly engaged in ensuring we had a great time. We had fish and chips and steaks with some great Rioja and Sauvignon Blanc.

Date of visit: March 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hammerschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

I have been here now two times and appreciate the extra dimension it gives on a Sunday brunch. Food is pretty good, wines are nice and service is giving a welcoming atmosphere. Will come back soon!

1  Thank gdeb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We think of the Pantechnicon rooms (Pants for short) as "our place in town" for a bottle of wine pre and post dinner, maybe a light lunch or after this weekend a great place for Sunday lunch before the train home to Newcastle

We usually stay in London just around the corner from here so its always very convenient for all the things we like. The corner frontage of this building gives you a view of the Smart hustle and bustle of Motcomb street and the opposite frontage of Petrus if you want an evening of fine dining

At Pantechnicon you feel relaxed, it changes its mood with its clientele from Friday night chat and banter standing inside and out on the street with bottles of wine and champagne to family lunches and great gastro bar food during the day and early evening.

Sunday lunch was great just what we wanted with pink rib of beef well aged and with great gravy roasties and vegetables , the atmosphere is always great with the family pet dog graciously allowed in on a Sunday lunch.

This place is a relaxed good quality Inn and one which always makes you feel very welcome whether you are one of the locals or just a regular traveller from the North, well worth the visit

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DGYSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We regularly eat sunday lunch at this establishment as it has a nice ambience, good food and reasonably priced for this part of London. It is a pub...but it is more than just a pub. There is a varied menu and over a period of time we have sampled most of it. Today, we encountered the first downside. It was not busy....my wife unfortunately encountered a small dead fly in her chips....so these things sometimes happen in the best of places. We reported it to our waitress who was horrified and went away to report it to the manager....Fine so far...but wouldn't you really think that the said manager would have come to discuss the matter with us? Needless to say we were disappointed. I always say you should be judged not on things that go wrong but how the manager deals with the situation from then on...

Date of visit: February 2015
3  Thank DavidHBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Good atmosphere, décor, comfortable, welcoming. Good menu, not exceptional but delivers. On arrival I was made to feel very welcome and expected (I had reserved through Square Meal). We had salt squid to start - enough to share between 2. It was crisp, tasty, not greasy at all, very good indeed. Then just salads, nothing exceptional but good. Attentive service, correct pricing. What's not to like. It was not my first visit and certainly not my last. If you want a casual meal in the area I cant think of a better place!

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MayaNSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alfred Tennyson also viewed

 

Been to The Alfred Tennyson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.