We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and obnoxious”
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #546 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy and obnoxious”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for one Sunday night. Yes there had been a football game, yes there was a group of football fans staying and yes they had taken over the featured roof top lounge for all day and evening. I can understand and cope with all that. What I don't understand is the same griup was allowed to party in a very noisy manner all night all over the place! My door was banged around 5.30 in the morning after listening to all that drunken screaming. This wa not on at all. In the morning I was asked: "Did you get any sleep at all?" C'mon. This is just not on! The facilities were really nice, but don't you at the book a hotel to sleep. At least a bit. I would have assumed the staff to take some action to have control over their space. I'm sorry to say that this was a very bad stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    147
    70
    54
    70
See reviews for
41
287
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed 3 times but probably not again. Excellent location. Entertaining concierge staff. Rooms small and initially enticing but on closer inspection cheap fittings and shoddy workmanship. Looks like done on the cheap but expensive rooms. Breakfast overpriced and poor service. Over-hyped hotel but have had enjoyable stays.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Excellent hotel. Friendly staff, top-notch room. You pay for the privilege, but we had a great night. We will definitely return...if we can get another good deal!

Room Tip: Try the bar on the 5th floor; yes it's gonna cost you, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

interesting room decor, comfortable bed, relaxed service, cool rooftop bar, location is fantastic so you can save a lot of time, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Bishops, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Sanctum for one night when visiting London in January. Its position just off Regents street is perfect, and the price was reasonable for such a position.
The porter is a quirky scot in a bowler hat who creates a good first impression. He told us not to worry if we had forgotten our bathers and most people in the hot tub don't bother ! We didn't test this out. The small bar/terrace was still open, and happy to serve us coffees at 3.30am which a lot of hotels aren't, but the counterside to this, is that there is the noise of people coming and going throughout the night, and the rooms are not soundproofed well enough. If you need a restful haven in central London, then this is NOT for you, otherwise, its a fun place to stay just for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Nice small hotel with perfect location for shopping and restaurants.
Very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Not quite as it looks on the internet. Its does have a great bohemian decor style, but all the promises when booking did not emerge on our stay. We bought a 'Winter Package' with one night costing £331, the only extras included in this were breakfast and a glass of champagne -so I expected perfection. I didn't get anywhere near it. Our package promised a street view room - we got a dark room with windows facing into the neighboring office block wall 6 feet opposite, and its air conditioning units. The room decor is fun at first sight, but the fixtures and fittings are not brilliant quality. Wobbly bathroom taps, missing lampshades, bedsheets with holes in, Aircon that doesn't really work properly and a "24 hour" rooftop bar that never seemed to be open. Our free champagne was like fizzy vinegar (couldn't drink it) and we waited over 10 minutes to be even acknowledged in the downstairs bar to get it - despite being the only 2 customers in the room at the time. On the plus side, the beds are very comfy, the reception and concierge staff very helpful and polite and the breakfast was generous and tasty. If this was a £95 a night standard hotel, I'd have no complaints, but it claims to be a top London boutique hotel and charges prices way above its ability to deliver.

Room Tip: I'm not sure about the upper floors, but the 1st floor is very noisy as sound travels up from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#353 of 1,068 in London
1,645 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#598 of 1,068 in London
1,470 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#135 of 1,068 in London
626 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#648 of 1,068 in London
131 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Property: Sanctum Soho Hotel
Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #546 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing