We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited once a few months ago and already on my third visit and counting..”
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #507 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As a business traveller i visit London at least three to four times a year and have grown tired of the usual hotel locations. In the past i did some research and found this little gem of a hotel and over the time i have established contact with an extremely capable and helpfull manager, Paul, who has alwasy been extremely courteous and pleasant to deal wtih. The hotel is located in the best area for both leisure and work, great bars and restaurants nearby, amazing decor and design and the rooms...individual, beautifully decorated and fun. As a matter of fact i work for hotels and i can for sure tell you that you will not regret staying here. Thank you to the Sanctum team for yet another great stay last week and for the more to come ahead.

Room Tip: As some noise may be audible from the street below if you are really sensitive go for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you back soon to the Sanctum.
Paul-Eric Licari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great location, close to the best restaurants and shops...
We really loved the place, the staff were very welcoming and helpfull, the room was very nice, clean and confortable, very romantic. Will come back and recomend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChFinkelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback!
We look forward welcoming you very soon.

Paul-Eric Licari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We've stayed in the Soho Sanctum a few times and we just LOVE it!
The rooms are really funky and have everything you need for after hours messy fun, including a wii console and ipod docking station!
The real draw here is the 24hr roof top terrace bar, complete with hot tub and some very interesting revellers.
What we most like about this hotel is that pretty much anything goes, If you're looking for quiet and solitude, don't even bother, the Premier Inn is that way...
Martin on the front desk is an absolute legend and know's what's on and where, that is of course, if you actually manage to make it out of the hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianyMcGowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Rooms are tiny, no table, to chairs to sit on, no wardrobe. Bathroom/Wetroom - When you have a shower the whole bathroom gets soaked. Bed Sheets were Dirty, not just marked but black marks on them. The TV was mounted on the wall to the right of the bed so you could not watch it. Generally very poor value for money and not a hotel for business travellers or for more than 1 night vacation stay. Not even room to store 1 large case. Food menu is average pub fare and over priced at that. £19 for a burger. Staff seemed not to care when I complained about poor cleaning, simply saying "sorry for that".

Room Tip: Avoid room 108 as you hear lots of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Mark,
I am terribly sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our Hotel. The room where you stayed is a crash pad and is advertised as you described it. We are extremely surprised to hear that the sheets where dirty as our housekeeping service is incredible. I will speak to our housekeeping manager and see what happened. I will also speak to our chef about your dinner. It would help me if you could contact us by e-mail in order to see when and in which room number you stayed. I hope to hear from you in order to be able to maintain our high standard of service.
Paul-Eric Licari
Paul-eric@sanctumsoho.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

After seeing the development of the hotel on the BBC a few years ago this was on my list of must visit hotels. My husband booked it as a surprise for our 10th wedding anniversary but was concerned after reading a few negative reviews on trip advisor so called the hotel directly. His main concerns were about the noisy rooms and limited access to the roof bar and hot tub. The hotel were very helpful and assured him that we would have access to the terrace bar and the room was situated away from any disturbance. When we arrived I was over the moon and the icing on the cake was the upgrade on our room we received. We were shown to our room by a guy in a bowler hat who was a great fun character. The room was fantastic with a bath on a bed of lit glass beads. We went straight up to the roof top bar and received yet again great service. After a fab meal at a nearby Italian( recommended by the hotel) and a few more drinks out we returned to the hotel and isn't long before we were in the hot tub with a bottle of bubbly. My husband and I had a truly memorable anniversary weekend and thank the staff for being so welcoming. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Hannah,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are all very delighted that we made your stay delightful.
We look forward to welcome you very soon back.
Paul-Eric Licari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed in London many times for various reasons, be it business or leisure and this hotel tops all the others! For this particular stay i wanted a quick weekend getaway with my other half.

I was busy all week so one of my employees called the hotel directly on my behalf, she spoke to Paul who helped her find the best rates and giae loads of top tips (before we had even booked!) as i was looking for something different e.g. parking and restaurants. Once the reservation was complete Paul emailed me the confirmation again giving me more hints and tips! Fantastic service!

When i arrived at the hotel i couldn't of been happier with the location - was central enough to get pretty much anywhere by walking yet still had the charm of a small boutique hotel in a quiet area. The only downside was the lady i spoke to at reception. She had quite a bad attitude, im not sure whether this was because we were a young couple (early 20's) or if she treats every customer this way. I am a sales manager in retail and know the importance of not judging a book by its cover - something she may need to learn. The only thing that made me look past this was the fact they had upgraded our room for free! We were told the hotel had a private function on the roof terrace until 12 am - this didn't bother us as we had other plans for most of the night.

When we entered our room i was more than pleasantly surprised! After hearing about how small the rooms were i was slightly anxious. We had a Double Deluxe - a white and cream room with large wardrobe space, huge bed and plenty of room to get ready. The best thing about the room? The shower!!!! I find the quality of water pressure in hotels to be slightly weak - that is not the case here. We were late for our dinner reservations that evening as my other half spent too long in the shower! We also found the room was completely sound proof - couldn't hear a thing!

After our night out myself and my partner decided to have one last night cap upstairs on the roof top terrace. It had such a great atmosphere and a great bunch of people there! The drinks were slightly on the expensive side - I did expect London prices however we had just come from The Rooftop Gardens in Kensington. 2 Long Island Iced Teas at the rooftop was £25.80 - at the Sanctum £24.60 and the alcohol was not top shelf.

All in all this was a great stay! For my job i get to travel the world and stay in 5 star hotels so i do set my standards high - If anyone comes to London i would be more than happy to recommend this hotel - I'm sure i will return!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe - Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Dear Katie,
Thank you very much for your feedback!
I am glad you had a nice time with us at the Sanctum Soho! I just wanted to let you know that I have spoken to the lady at reception and apologize for the disagreement.

See you very soon!

Paul-Eric Licari
Rooms Div Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here with my OH for a birthday. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and the cleanest I've ever stayed in. However, when we walked in, the staff at the desk seemed shocked and taken aback when I said I had a reservation. Anyway, we were seen to our room which was a good size. The four poster was huge and the details of the room - like the diamante door handles - really set it apart from the rest. I was hoping to have use of the roof terrace/hot tub etc as it was a special occasion and a surprise, but there was a private function on the terrace - and it was LOUD. We weren't too bothered by the noise, but if I'd been staying for business rather than pleasure, I would've complained. However, the location and decor make up for the rest, and we would stay again, purely because it's in such a great location - not so much for the service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Hi Rebecca,

Thank you very much for your kind comment!

We don't honor fully private functions on the roof anymore since a couple of month, so I am surprised.

In regards of the reception staff I am surprised as well and I definitely need to investigate who it was.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your feedback further.

Kindest regards,

Paul-Eric Licari
Rooms Divisions Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#536 of 1,081 in London
217 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#43 of 1,081 in London
2,419 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#680 of 1,081 in London
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#372 of 1,081 in London
1,756 reviews
Soho
Victory House London Leicester Square MGallery by Sofitel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £173 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing