We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy hotel but not for us”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #519 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel but not for us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Selected this hotel based largely on location. We were looking forward to the boutique style hotel in London. The hotel is a little more avant garde than we wanted. It styles itself as a rock and roll hotel (we did not realise this). There are art works that some people might regard as challenging. The music was loud and on the day we arrived the hotel was celebrating summer with a party. It was a bit too much for us but perhaps it would suit a younger person. I don’t think I would recommend this hotel for people seeking a quiet escape from the London streets but if hip, loud activity is your thing then perhaps give it a try. Room was mostly clean, comfortable and well appointed. The noise from the street is appalling and kept us awake until closing time, which was after 3am (the noise stopped at 3.40am). This is my most disappointing experience of a hotel in terms of noise – dreadful. The cost of the hotel was very high and our expectations were for a boutique hotel with friendly service and a refuge from the city – it is not. Overall, I think we were not the right demographic for this hotel (middle age plus couple). I could not recommend this hotel but if you do stay make certain you only accept a room at the back side of the hotel. I would not return.

Room Tip: Make sure it is at the back and away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    144
    64
    50
    65
See reviews for
39
272
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Went for drinks in the bar on wed 7 August. As soon as we enter to the hotel we was greeted by rude security. This security was the most awful person I ever meet!!!! I never seen so unprofessional person in the hotel. Staff in the bar is just ok. Prices for coctail is not expensive. But the staff by its self is just terrible. No cigarettes available on the smoking bar. Staff told as to buy them outside the hotel. Never will back to the sanctum. Awful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olegs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel and stayed there principally because of its location, slap bang in the middle of the West End / Soho - walking distance to all of the shops, theatres, bars and restaurants we wanted to visit (having lived in London several years ago). The location is amazing. And quiet too - you simply wouldn't know that you're in the heart of London.

We also chose the hotel because of the rooftop bar, where we held a small 'reunion' gathering with our London friends. We had reserved some tables however the reservations mysteriously got lost - so we had to stand in a cramped corner; not great, but still nice to be outdoors in the centre of London. It's a nice venue, albeit the drinks are over-priced.

Our bedroom was, in a word, weird. It was like the interior designers had 50 ideas and instead of just using one, they used them all in our room. It was an absolute mess. Brown sparkly walls, black and purple bathroom, ugly paintings, diamonte door handles - it just didn't work at all. But it was large enough (we had a larger room - not the lead-in size), the bed was ultra comfortable, nice bathroom products, and the blackout blinds were superb. I understand that all rooms are different so maybe we just lucked out.... perhaps we should have asked for a room change when we checked in.

Service was fine (if a little indifferent) and overall the hotel is in a nice condition. Very much recommended - especially if you can stretch to one of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a different room if the interior decor offends you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,044 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,802 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Was in London on a midweek stay on business & decided to stay here for a change. Well situated in Soho, it's a funky boutique hotel, with interesting decor & quirky touches, which I like a lot.
Smooth check in & warm welcome. I had booked an Executive room at £250 via a comparison site & to be fair, I was very disappointed with the room size, even for London standards. I would have hated to stay in a normal room!
The room although small, was perfectly formed. Comfy bed, feather pillows & rain shower, so all good there.
Overall I think there are far better options in London. St.Martins Lane & The Sanderson are both funky, central & a lot better value in regard to room size. My usual choice however, is Hotel Indigo at Tower Hill, which is total class & superb value for money, so unlikely to return here again.

Room Tip: If you can't run to a suite don't stay here unless you are prepared for tiny rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just stayed here with 12 friends for my birthday celebration weekend. This ultra cool, friendly hotel made the weekend completely brilliant. Accommodating staff day & night, Ultra cool rooms and decor throughout the whole hotel and a fab roof terrace bar. V comfy beds. Crash pads are small but ample for short stays. Superior rooms are perfect. Slightly pricey overall, but worth it for a treat. We LOVED this hotel and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picapicapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved this hotel! We found all the staff friendly and helpful, we had a suite that was amazing, with a bath in the room with fairy lights, and a tv that was hidden as a mirror. The only small gripe was that we went up to the rooftop cocktail bar and they didn't have several ingredients for the cocktails that were on the menu, this bar did seem very disorganised. Breakfast next morning was good. Would definitely return, loved it!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at the Sanctum on Saturday night, on arrival at 4pm our room was still not confirmed as ready. The reception man was very distracted and stressed looking, left us with a colleague as he said he needed to go out for a cigarette.
Once in the room, had to ask for the duvet to be changed immediately as it was balls of feathers, like it had been machine washed!
Went to the rooftop bar for a drink and some food, service was awful, food was good but waitress just put food on the table and walked away, no cutlery or anything offered. The roof terrace is grimy, seedy and very dated, horrid!
On a positive the bed was very comfortable, but no kettle or tea making facilities. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nich1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#347 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#574 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#157 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Property: Sanctum Soho Hotel
Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing