We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel, in the perfect location”
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #538 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The location could not have been better for most things you'd like to do while visiting London. The hallways are decorated with interesting artwork, that is unapologetically Rock N Roll, which coupled with the room interiors, gives the place a fun, young vibe, where other London hotels can seem stuffy and uppity. Be sure to check out the rooftop bar when you're there, especially when you need a drink at 3 AM.

Thank Kazim D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Hotels should not rely on their location alone to set their prices. At £200 a night you have to do something to add wow factor and this place does not.
That aside it is clean, well appointed and comfy. Service is all you would expect.
There is nothing to actually complain about but equally there is nothing to justify the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Platinum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

No complaints with this hotel - nice room, décor - great location for a bit of shopping/night out in the West End. We had a room on the 4th floor which was quiet considering the central location. Rood top bar was refreshing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just checked out after 4 days with spouse and college-student daughter at the Sanctum in Soho, and was very sad to leave. Stayed in one of their delightfully funky junior suites (spouse labelled it disco-ball meets Turkish brothel but daughter and I find that rather harsh), and made liberal use of their roof-top bar, a favoured haunt of some fascinating locals.

Location can't be beat - mere minutes to Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, National Portrait Gallery, most west-end theaters, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Household Cavalry Museum, and literally round the corner from Carnaby Street and Regent Street shopping.

Our room was very quiet, and kept pristinely clean and tidy by maid service we never met but greatly appreciated. Staff at the front desk ranged from adequate to spectacularly helpful and efficient (thankyou Sam).

Prices are on the high side, but comparable or lower than other quality properties nearby. We were fortunate to come across the Sanctum during a brief sale 2 weeks before our trip, so had the good fortune to pick up an amply-sized suite for less than the typical cost of a basic room.

We loved staying at the Sanctum; we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sward007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had wanted to stay at The Sanctum since 2011, I was once invited to a party that was held there by a friend of mine who had managed to score wristbands to the Britney Spears Femme Fatale European Tour party, sadly I was unable to attend and made a vow that I would stay at this luxury boutique hotel.

And I made it happen, in a nutshell, the hotel is quirky and beautiful and in an IDEAL location, as I know London pretty well, it is perfect for a sneaky trip to Oxford Street, or for a superb night out in Soho. Truly a sensational hotel.

I was even upgraded to a nicer room, which was a complimentary, one off thing, don't go thinking it'll happen to you as it won't. Me and my friend spent the entire evening relaxing in the luxury bedroom. It is a perfect little getaway, with such ideal links to one of Europe's most beautiful cities.

Room Tip: The superior version of the Crash Pad is sensational!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dannjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

If you are looking for somewhere handy for shops, theatre and restaurants then look no further than the Sanctum Hotel.
We were greeted by a friendly member of staff, who showed us to our room. the room was a good size for London, with a fantastic bathroom, and very large bed
The room was quiet, and we did not encounter the noise that others have mentioned.
The breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.
The pictures that other people have mentioned, may put some people off, but i would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Selected this hotel based largely on location. We were looking forward to the boutique style hotel in London. The hotel is a little more avant garde than we wanted. It styles itself as a rock and roll hotel (we did not realise this). There are art works that some people might regard as challenging. The music was loud and on the day we arrived the hotel was celebrating summer with a party. It was a bit too much for us but perhaps it would suit a younger person. I don’t think I would recommend this hotel for people seeking a quiet escape from the London streets but if hip, loud activity is your thing then perhaps give it a try. Room was mostly clean, comfortable and well appointed. The noise from the street is appalling and kept us awake until closing time, which was after 3am (the noise stopped at 3.40am). This is my most disappointing experience of a hotel in terms of noise – dreadful. The cost of the hotel was very high and our expectations were for a boutique hotel with friendly service and a refuge from the city – it is not. Overall, I think we were not the right demographic for this hotel (middle age plus couple). I could not recommend this hotel but if you do stay make certain you only accept a room at the back side of the hotel. I would not return.

Room Tip: Make sure it is at the back and away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#630 of 1,076 in London
1,519 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,293 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#591 of 1,076 in London
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#368 of 1,076 in London
1,696 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#241 of 1,076 in London
647 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £171 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing