We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #541 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

lovley hotel , glamorous and eclectic , room was quite small and only lit by lamps making it difficult if you needed to read anything , 4 poster bed was lovely and comfortable and very stylish large black mirror which unfortuneately had a large chunk missing out of it , also the curtains were ripped and hanging down from the centre . the downside was no tea/coffe making facilities , the bar is very expensive and breakfast also a little pricey, great location , ideal for shopping and west end , staff could have been a little friendlier there was no interaction apart form asking questions about checking in , would have been nice to have had some chat after a long journey includin g horrendous traffic jams but werenot given any advice on any of the facilities available ,a great hotel let down by lack of welcome or advice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misspog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Misspog,

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about your recent experience.

We have checked all of our Superior rooms and fixed the curtains as well as the mirror. As for the tea and coffee facilities; unfortunately there is no space in those rooms, but we are thinking about it due to the customer feedback.

Feel free to contact me directly in order for me to know which staff member you dealt with.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    140
    62
    49
    65
See reviews for
36
267
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is in a perfect position: walking distance to my favorite shopping places and to the theaters.
The concierge service is a little amazing. A very gentle man will welcome you and provide you with all the information you ask for. And if he doesn't know, he will find out!
The rooms are a little small, still very stylish.
The only remark regards the breakfast: the restaurant waitress are either very slow or annoyed about serving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadySimonaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Lady Simona,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience in our Hotel. We have made sure that the food and beverage manager is aware about your feedback concerning the restaurant as well.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I only visited the bar. Judging by this I could not recommend the hotel, but who knows. The décor is fun with a mix of rock glam and louche charm. The good bit ends there. The bar service was perfunctory. My Gimlet consisted of a small gin on the rocks with a splash of lime juice. I didn't bother to complain as I could see they could not deal with this. 13-95 for a so called cocktail - forget it. Go to any one of 20 excellent West End hotels or bars instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Reiver59,

I am sorry to hear about your poor customer experience on the roof top bar at Sanctum. Unfortunately the Gimlet is not on our cocktail menu and this should have been explained to you as we do not stock the appropriate ingredients to make the drink. We are currently working towards training our staff in an array of classic cocktails that aren't on our menu to ensure our customers feel more than satisfied in the quality of our cocktails as well as the standard of service.
You are more than welcome to return for a complimentary cocktail on our roof terrace and I am positive you will receive friendly, professional service along with a well crafted cocktail from our passionate staff.
Kind regards,
Nicky Elson
Bar Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I can't get enough of Sanctum! Tried both, standard rooms and suits. Suits are perfect choice for some occasions. The decor is lovely. Standard rooms are really good for more regular days.
Despite what room you choose they all are very spacious with big bed and lovely bathroom.
Staff is friendly and able to help with all enquiries. Room service might be a bit slow due to busy restaurant but worth waiting.
Rooftop bar is great place for late drinks. And if you have a chance try a hot tub on the roof!

Room Tip: I love top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orinta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Orinta, Thank you for sharing your latest stay with us on Tripadvisor. Always so uplifting to hear such comments. Look forward to having you back with us here at Sanctum Soho in the not too distant future. Best Wishes,

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Nothing about this place is average ... it's just a mostly Excellent ... with a few 1 star features !

On the good side, it is a perfect location for all the London shows, with many great eateries close by. The price was less ridiculous than others in the area, and the room was large and comfortable. The décor is bizarre ... perhaps inspired by some 1980's disco-porn movie, with mirrors everywhere, and a bath in the middle of the room, with only a bead curtain for privacy. We found it amusing, but I can imagine people loving it ... or hating it. Most of the staff were excellent, but one morning we got a truly dreadful breakfast, backed up with service worthy of an East European detention facility (back to the 80's again)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear David, Thank you for your review and points both positive and constructive. I expect we shall see you back with us again, and am sure we will be able to show you an improvement on the shortcomings. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin,UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a treat as we had to cancel our foreign holiday. Wow what a wonderful boutique hotel . We had booked through to different web providers not realising it would be different types of room . The guys on the desk said they would do their best at giving us just one room , they didn't disappoint giving us the better of the two rooms for our stay .
The room and bathroom was spotless , big comfy four poster bed and all the things you need including a intimacy box !!!!!! Would of been welcome if we hadn't bee so knackered from our days out.
Shower was powerful with big fluffy towels, dressing gown and slippers every thing you expect. Had a couple of room issues but hotel sorted it with in minutes and nothing was too much trouble . The room was quiet and warm my only complaint is the green light on the a room sensor it was so bright but not a problem mentioned to reception fell into bed realising it had been covered ,
Really really recommend this boutique hotel and absolute gem in the heart of the west end , thank you guys .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie2675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Richie,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are very pleased that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you very soon again.

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst on a business trip, perhaps not the normal kind of choice for a business hotel but a great location just off Regent Street in the heart of Londons West End. Very welcoming staff, good sized room with all you would expect from a modern hotel. Lots of interesting art work / photographs dotted around the hotel, well worth a walk around to get a good look at it all. Comfortable bed, great shower, very quiet and very dark in the room so a good nights sleep was not a problem. Looking forward to returning here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Barbey,

We look forward to welcoming you soon back again!

Paul-Eric Licari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#340 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#572 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#169 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Property: Sanctum Soho Hotel
Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing