We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away in London”
Review of Sanctum Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Ranked #540 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Firstly this Hotel is in an amazing position! You really couldn't get better for Regent St/Oxford St /Soho......... Must mention Marty the Concierge, such a warm welcome and really friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The Hotel itself is small but has a nice bar/lounge area and the Suite we stayed in was really lovely, some people have commented rooms are very small but our Suite was more than adequate, lovely comfortable bed and very clean.

The Hotel has a Rooftop Terrace bar which is normally hired out for functions but as a hotel guest you can use this facility. This is where things go downhill, The Sanctum needs to establish weather it is a Hotel for paying guests or a night club for teenagers, this is not a cheap hotel and I feel having a free for all rooftop bar full of screaming drunk teenagers is doing them no favours at all.

We were not disturbed by the noise, and we are more than up for drinks and late nights dancing, but this really was something you would expect to see in Ibiza! (and not in a good way)
The staff do not seem to know what is going on re who is up there, people running around in dressing gowns trying to get in Jacuzzi at 1 am, all makes this hotel feel a bit cheap.

Overall This is a good hotel, position excellent , would I stay here again? probably not and that's mainly because of the atmosphere and the whole rooftop terrace situation. for £340 I can stay somewhere I feel is (sorry to say) more classy.

The Sanctum has the potential to be amazing, but it really needs to have a rethink about the message it is giving off to paying guests and non residents.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emmalouessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctum2011, Front Office Manager at Sanctum Soho Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Good Afternoon Emma,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your views regarding your stay.

Having read your words, I am are aware that we had a external function taking place on the roof terrace, and have since received feedback that their guests did not behave as we would expect. Our hotel residents are always our top priority and we are terribly sorry that this function tainted your stay with us.

I wish to discuss this with you further - If you could kindly email me at reservations@sanctumsoho.com , so that I have a point of contact for you.

Kindest regards
Sam Margolis
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location by day but hotel is next door but one to a club which pumped out bass music til 4am. We could even hear the dj. We were to the front of the hotel so could also hear people outside all night. Also there was a private party in the roof terrace which as guests we could gate crash but it was so rammed up there and full of hammered teenagers that we didn't bother!said teenagers were then running up and downstairs all evening til the early hours. For what is a very expensive hotel with an air of exclusivity the sanctum needs to be a bit choosier about who they are renting out the rooftop bar to. We hired a suite - spacious with a nice big clean bathroom but the decor needs updating,looking tired in places. On the plus side, all of the staff are really friendly and the food in the restaurant is excellent.concierge is lovely. And the location is great for central London. Avoid if you are looking for relaxation,great if you are in a party all night mood!

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front and go for first floor as its not too close to the noisy roof bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupcake137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was so small that they had to leave our bags right behind the door and we could barely get into the room. There was no furniture other than nightstands--no place to store anything. We were there for one night and that was MORE than enough. The air conditioning never got the room sufficiently cool, the WiFi was so slow it basically didn't work, the toilet never flushed properly and the lighting was so abysmal in the room I wondered what they were trying to hide. The bathroom was at least light/bright and spacious. In addition, while the rest of the hotel had a light floral/green tea smell to it, our room had a sickeningly sweet overpowering scent so bad it gave me a headache and I could never figure out what was creating it.

The cinema in the basement is a really nice touch and the staff people were helpful and the location is convenient. The bar however should be skipped--the beer selection is absolutely terrible for a bar in the UK. This place tries way too hard to be 'edgy' but just falls flat. Regarding the 'sexy box' another reviewer mentioned: 2 condoms and some herbal Viagra is not exactly exciting. For people who follow the Kardashians this hotel might be ok, for everyone else who is more into quality/substance than image, skip it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MIAU2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A very warm welcome, lovely room great bar on the roof top but when we went to bed later we could hear the roof top bar I complained they explained that there was a party (Rizzlekicks were having a party) so they upgraded us and apologised Mark the owner even carried our bags! Great rooms nice restaurant great atmosphere. We will stay again when we visit London. They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Suites are the best but the have a good selection of rooms for every one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this hotel in particular for my husbands birthday as it looked cool and edgy and was described as luxury . Booked through an agency but the price was the same as if booked direct so paid full whack which was fine as we were in a great location.

This hotel is well marketed and has a great website but sadly does not live up to the description that is on the website of luxury ...

Yes it is in a superb location , just around the corner of Carnaby Street , Regent Street and Piccadilly Circus .

The rooftop bar has no view anywhere due to high frosted windows , and is more of a smokers area than a bar for all , it stinks of smoking and I would not want to eat afternoon tea up there which was my plan for the following day .. . There was a party that night and although the staff get around this by saying you are " invited " who would want to go to a birthday bash with people you have never met , so that whole area was out for us. No use of the hot tub , and no way to have a night cap on the roof.

Our room was below said party !! this was not mentioned at the time of booking , When we saw the owner briefly he told us to make sure we kept the windows and curtains closed ! I was a little confused by the statement but smiled and walked on by ... Oh Boy did we find out why … when the 65 guests were jumping up and down to sweet child of mine and steps at midnight above our room …. Not wanting to be a party pooper I tried to watch TV until the party had finished … not a chance we could not hear a thing due to the noise above … I eventually called reception to ask when they would be finished and ultimately going home .. 1pm was the reply . So apart from the noise of the party , we then had all 65 guests troop down the stairs to go home .. this may seem early to some people but we had been up since 5 am and been walking around the city all day and out all evening so wanted some sleep before we started again the next day ...

We did get some recompense after a bit of a haggle when we checked out next morning but really we should have had a full refund .

Breakfast was lovely , cooked beautifully .

Concierge was lovely too , however when you ask about eating locally , I am used to being asked if we would like something to be booked for us , not given an A 4 piece of paper to choose from .. not very luxury at all really … edgy yes , and rock and roll if you don't mind having no sleep for your £300 a night booking …

would we go again …. no , I would stay round the corner at Cafe Royal

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Trendy little boutique hotel with lots of funky gadgets and an interesting little "sexy box" in the bed chamber. Liked the privacy curtain around the free standing bath in the bedroom.

The hotel has a terrace upstairs for guests to use but unfortunately during our stay there was a private booking which meant we couldn't use it :-/

The hotel is a little rough and tatty around the edges, despite it being quite costly.

One thing of note, the concierge was wonderful!

Won't be visiting again as there are way too many fabulous venues in London yet to try.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The door lock didn't work in the middle of the night at it took 15 minutes for the staff to figure out how to let us into our room. Then we discovered that the fan in the bathroom wouldn't turn off all night, it was very noisy. It seemed to be bringing in air from the street because it smelled of exhaust. Rooftop bar is pretty gimmicky with plaster skulls and such, and there is no view out into the city- not sure why some guests see it as a great attraction. The location was terrific but overall would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 103 is handicapped access - glad this is available, but we would have liked to have a different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crowe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#631 of 1,076 in London
1,519 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,294 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#594 of 1,076 in London
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#369 of 1,076 in London
1,696 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#229 of 1,076 in London
647 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Soho Hotel

Address: 20 Warwick Street, London W1B 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £170 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctum Soho Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today’s rock’n’roll hotel is less about threats of incidental bodily harm and more about a glamorously decadent atmosphere, and the new model is a place like the Sanctum Soho.Here it means a dash of modern minimalism, a sprinkling of baroque opulence, and an emphasis on the darker end of the color palette. The in-room electronics are totally up to date, while some throwback touches are retained for atmosphere’s sake. It’s a twenty-four-hour hotel with a liberal, tolerant service concept; what you want, you’ll get, without so much as a raised eyebrow. In that, it’s not so fundamentally different from some of London’s more conservative luxury hotels — it just feels naughtier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctum Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing