We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely welcoming hotel, would recommend it to friends and family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #243 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming hotel, would recommend it to friends and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Bermondsey Square Hotel over Easter. The food was excellent and the service. The staff were friendly. The room was beautiful, very modern and the bed very comfy. In a nice location and not far to walk to Tower Bridge etc.
Located in a nice little Square with fresh food market stalls, shops and cafes.
Will recommend it to family, friends and colleagues. We give it an excellent rating all round :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    497
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
128
599
77
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Weekend from saturday to monday from Oslo to London.
Pleasant stay at this hotel. Room very nice and modern. Comfortable bed and free wi-fi.
Friendly staff and good location.
Checck out pub Wolfgang Pack on your way to London Bridge tube stn,. about 10 min. walk from hotel.
All in all; recomandable ***

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mokors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Just returned from a hectic weekend in London, staying at the fabulous Bermondsey Square hotel, from the moment we arrived Joanna on reception made us feel so welcome and could not do enough for us! from the usual to more unusual requests, nothing was to much trouble, a sincere "thank you" from me and the wife you helped make our 15th wedding anniversary very special.

Cant say enough about this Hotel, funky, trendy a must if you are travelling to London.

We stayed on the 6th floor, i believe it was a club double room, not the biggest room we've stayed in, but it was clean, well presented and functional, nice bathroom and the bed was to die for, the best 2 nights sleep i had in a long time.

We travel to London at least twice a year, i will be most certainly going back, i would urge you to do the same, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgsmith1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlie, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Bermondsey Square Hotel was in a really good location, about a 15 minute walk to the Tower Bridge. We had a very nice room overlooking Bermondsey Square. The bathroom was spacious and very clean.
All of the people we delt with in reception could not have been more helpful. They were great. We would go back to this hotel again, and will recommend it to any friends going to London.
A great Morrocan restuarant on the corner of Bermondsey square. Antique Market in the square on Fridays, and produce market on a saturday. We picked up a rental car from the near by Waterloo station when we left. (about a 5 minute taxi ride from the hotel)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janandnoelmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had an great stay in this hotel which is about 10-15mins walk from London Bridge station.

The room was clean and modern, had a great shower, a view of the London skyline and an iMac acting as TV/Media centre.

Wifi reception in our room was pretty spotty but there was an ethernet plug and that was speedy. So if you need internet access bring an ethernet cable just in case.
My girlfriend was amazed to find a hairdryer with actual power and not one of those low wattage ones most hotels seem to offer. A rare thing.

Compared to what you usually find in London in this price range this is unbelievable.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnotherColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My son (12 y), wife and I stayed in a junior suite for 5 days (Jude, one of the Loft Suites). It wasn't very large, but good for being UK. The suite had a Beatles theme and we liked the decorations. There was a large King size bed and a comfy extra bed for our son - veeery soft, comfy and thick mattresses. The fresh bathroom had floor and wall tiles, two water basins and a shower cabinet with a large fixed ceiling shower head (I prefer handheld ones). The room was equipped with TV (signal via a Mac), iPod docking station and free wi-fi with good signal. There was a small but nice terrace with a small table and two chairs. We didn't have any hammock, Japanese bath or outdoor hot tub (as one might expect by reading the hotel web site info). We had all our breakfasts in a nearby very lovely pub/restaurant, the Garrison, highly recommended for its interior and very accommodating staff. The Bermondsey square has an antiquity market on Friday mornings (which we didn't visit) and a great local produce market on Saturdays, with bread, cheese, veggies, flowers etc, all sold directly by the farmers. For getting around I recommend you buy an "all-inclusive" travel card for buses and subway. The easiest way to get to downtown is the nearby buses on Tower Bridge Street. Nearest subway is either London Bridge (which we used) or Borough, both are about 10 min walk away. All in all we liked the hotel very much and we will certainly consider it when in London next time.

Room Tip: Ask for the room specs before you book - just in case you really want for example a Japanese bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thank you Swedoc for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Bermondsey Square. The 5 suites are all unique. Eleanor has the japanese bath, Lucy the hot tub and Lily the hammock. Jude and Ruby are slightly smaller being in the middle of the hotel. I do hope you'll have the opportunity to try them all on your next visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Considering the price of the hotelrooms, we were hoping for moore.The hotelroom was clean and big and the beds where very comfortable but there where very poor extra complementery sutch as scampoo, soap, the and coffe. We had to ask for moore and got exactly one moore of what we asked for. The staff at the frontdesk wasn´t the most happiest we met. The safedepostbox was in the staffs office, witch is a strange solution. But the worst was the location. Only a few busses where passing by and the underground was abot 15 min walk away.
L&C Sweden

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyshugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London City Hotel
#216 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#180 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,689 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#197 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing