We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern comfortable and slightly quirky South Bank hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #300 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A modern comfortable and slightly quirky South Bank hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Second time I've stayed here and it has been modernised during the year in between. The bedroom is a good size, comfortable bed, and with an unusual split layou with a desk dividing the room. Good batthroom although only a shower not a bath. Could do with better lighting (too many small gloomy lights) but so could most rooms I have stayed in recently. Bar is OK but very "public and with only a few small seating areas. Only ate breakfast but this was good with free newspapers. Only problems were wireless internet which worked when I first checked in but kept dropping out thereafter, and a car park a fair walk away, which didn't affect me as I used public transport but did affect a colleague.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    549
    135
    44
    30
See reviews for
138
665
83
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Trips to London is not my top pick but to visit a hotel that I had seen on the telly was very novel. The brief walk from Borough underground station was spot on after trip from Newcastle Upon Tyne. The room had some great features such as wet room shower and work space but lacked a light above the hanging area. The cleanliest of the room and the facilities were very good and the bed was just what I wanted for a great nights kip. The breakfast was a surprise as an extra £5 to have the full English as to the free continental. The staff were very friendly and overall I was glad we were there rather than the budget option around the corner. Would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: "What a wet room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed only one night , but the room was excellent , bed comfortable & great bathroom/shower . 10 min walk to City. Didnt get the chance to eat .Came within my budget for business trips. Will use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Just stayed the one night with colleagues. Easy to find from Borough tube station just a five / ten minute walk away. Easy booking in. Very pleasant well furnished rooms with a novel approach by combining TV and internet access in a good sized Mac computer. Beautiful bathroom. Very nice chic modern public areas. Didn't eat in but the breakfast was to a very good standard served by pleasant staff. It is literally five minutes to London Bridge so well located. All in all a great little hotel with pleasant staff. Would definitely use again for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We chose to stay at this hotel as the location suited us for getting the tube to the o2 arena which was the purpose of our visit. The staff were very helpful, the room itself was very nicely done and has everything you need. Very quiet at night which makes a change as we usually stay more central.
The nearest tube station is only a 10 min walk away and you can be in the centre of London within 15 mins or at o2 arena in 5.
London Bridge itself is only a 5 min walk and you can also take the London clipper boat from there along to the London Eye etc.
The food in the hotel was of a very high standard. Would stay here again. It would be worthwhile buying an oyster card if you plan on travelling on the tube a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Excellent food, gucci rooms and a really great location for accessing central London. We walked to London Bridge and along the South Bank to St Pauls.
I would strongly recommend the rib eye steak as a main, best we had had almost ever!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Clean, funky hotel in a gorgeous little Square just south of Tower Bridge. The rooms, as some reviewers note, are on the small side but really well designed to make the most of the space (which is, let's not forget, an absolute premium in this part of town). I've stayed 6 times and enjoyed every one. Staff at check-in have always been friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and the drench showers are fantastic - treat yourself by taking some pampering shower products, you won't miss a bath.

Beds are uber-comfy and offer a great night's sleep. Each room has a fridge with complimentary water and wine glasses presumably for if you want to stock your fridge yourself (although the hotel does do this for you on request).

Room service is prompt and efficient, offering a selection from the main menu at Gregg's restaurant. I've had six very relaxing stays here - when I arrived the last time there was a loud party going on in the square (nothing to do with the hotel) and when I discovered my 2nd floor room overlooked this I was worried - but I couldn't hear a peep in my room.

Room Tip: The suites are obviously the best rooms here. But don't be dismayed if you get a room on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London City Hotel
#237 of 1,069 in London
714 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
686 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#272 of 1,069 in London
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,069 in London
3,337 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing