We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #270 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had xmas lunch 25/12/2012 and what a fantastic time my party had.
Too the F&B team working xmas day they are a credit to your hotel, all the staff in the restaurant were welcoming and looked after our needs.
The food was fantastic and plenty, well cooked and was served hot ( which doesn't always happen in hotels ) we really had an enjoyable afternoon/evening.
I work for a large hotel chain as a f&b supervisor and found this hotel on the same par as mine properly higher.
We look forward to coming back a.s.a.p
Thank you again great job !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nickismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    521
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
133
635
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We took advantage of a special offer by B2 to stay in our favourite London hotel again. We love the location, the staff and the gorgeous rooms. We always have a great time there and we recommend it to friends all the time. It is well worth signing up for their e-offers newsletter. That is how we get such great prices.

Room Tip: We have not had a "bad room" yet. All are quiet and of a great size. We get the Superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My daughter found the Bermondsey Square Hotel online when looking for a high-quality, reasonably priced hotel in London close to a nursing home in which an elderly friend is staying. The Bermondsey is quite impressive; cleverly designed rooms, quite clean and well-appointed -- including free wifi, and exceptionally pleasant and competent staff. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, which is also quite good and also good value. The area in which the hotel is located is most convenient. We will definitely stay there again when in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iaj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The hotel was really clean and modern, as was our room. However our room was smaller than I had expected but was furnished to a high standard with all the mod cons you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I also had a lot of trouble with gaining good mobile phone signal and had had to resort to standing in the corner of the room to get a signal.

The hotel was very well situated for access to Kings College Hospital, which was our main destination. We found that taxi fare to and from the campus was cheaper than travelling by bus. However bus links were very good and the nearest tube station (London Bridge is about 20mins walk, 10mins by bus or 5mins by taxi away).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADSAFZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Adnaan A
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Following a couple of similar comments in regards to our wifi connection, we have added boosters to the network as we discovered that all the extra traffic in the area since we opened has compromised the original system that we installed. I trust that you will enjoy a better experience om your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Working in Bermondsey I had always had good reports about this hotel but when staying in the area had always opted for cheaper hotels on the grounds that I just needed a quick bed for the night. Due to a Christmas work event although my wife and I usually drive we decided to use the train as we thought this would be a cheaper option. You can imagine my surprise when it was cheaper to stay at this hotel (£125 Special deal from £300 ?) a night rather than two of us using a train. And so it was we were booked into the hotel. On arrival it we were greeted warmly and dealt with very efficiently. We went to our room which although fairly modern and compact was extremley comfortable and had everything we needed. Everything was clean and well presented and although of a modern style was just what we needed for a comfortable stay. In the morning we had breakfast which was average but nothing special.

It suited us really well but for people who do not know the area they should be aware that it is not really close to a tube(about 15 mins walk) It would be best to either get a cab or bus after dark as it is close to some challenging areas.

The Special deal I got suggested I had saved £175 which made me feel good but £300 pounds a night would be too much. I would love to stay there and providing they have similar deals again I would have no hesitation in staying at this smart efficient hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Stephen B
I am pleased that you were able to stay with us in the lead up to Christmas and that you enjoyed your stay. Whilst the hotel is very popular and our rates reflect the demand in this area for hotel accomodation, we often have some very keen prices on our own website. It is not uncommon to see similar prices to what you paid throughout the year. I do hope that you and your wife will have reason to return and enjoy our hospitality once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Staff were informal, making my stay very relaxed. Let me sample bits of food/drink to choose my meal. Great great food!
Rooms are big and comfortable.
Great central location just south of the river.

The beds were extremely comfotable, felt like home. Will try to stay there again if in London again.
I stayed on busines, but would think it would be a great base for a couple or holiday too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Arrived a little early for our reservation on Christmas Eve but staff were very accommodating. Shown to our table and ordered drinks. Good menu selection as our party is varied from vegetarian to large meat eaters. Lovely food, piping hot, very tasty and beautifully presented. Nice selection of wines. A very enjoyable experience, even though restaurant very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfingersoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Greenfingersoxford
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back to Gregg's Bar & Grill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
London City Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing