We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #292 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is located in a great area, looks ok ( no different to a holiday inn or travel lodge etc) and the breakfast was good. However, within an hour of checking in a letter was pushed under all rooms on the same floor regarding apparent smoking on that floor. I understand the requirement for them to do this, but bearing in mind that we had just checked in and left immediately to go sightseeing, this was a v poor welcome to say the least!

Reception staff didn't know anything about the area, things that were open and generally very unhelpful.

Won't be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    532
    128
    41
    30
See reviews for
134
648
80
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Cowes
Level Contributor
234 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

again trip advisor website crashed during reviewing - very annoying

very nice property, centrally located (close to tower and tower bridge, borough market, shard, railways - waterloo/london bridge), on bermondsey square which is a traffic calmed central london place
Modern building and acceptable level of kit in a small package which would allow personalized service
The pros
room size and decor, good beds, enertainment system, free wifi, fridge to use with free water, grohe raindance shower, all rooms on 6th floor fit for disabled people
Cons
service (despite well motivated and trying to be helpful not orientated - was sent off in wrong direction to borough market which is a local sight and not told that most stands would be closed sundays), fire alarm notification in three languages states a different day for testing in every language - potential safet hazrd, was told on check in that breakfast was complimentary but was charged (poss my mistake as not specified on booking but if I am told it's free i assume so)....
So in summary - good value for the discount offered online 90 pounds in this location is a steal but with my arm twisted to breaking point I would not pay there normal asking price around 300 quid - there is better for less

Room Tip: higher up - better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cramorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philymanjaro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Got taken here on a surprise weekend by my wife, who booked a suite for 2 nights. The suite was located at the top of the building, with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. The only negative was the inability to book a specific suite when online booking, and the poor knowledge of the check-in staff to what suites were available and what facilities they had. The hotel is located in a very convenient part of London, with lots of good restaurants 2 minutes away on Bermondsey Street, nice walks down to the river, and good bus connections to many parts of London. We wold definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philymanjaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is our third stay at the Bermondsey Square Hotel, with a further trip already booked. The hotel is very convenient, the area is great and the accommodation very good. But the staff are terrific, friendly, warm though discreet and professional to their finger tips!
We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed great meals with excellent wine list for choice.
Although we have already booked for a longer stay in a couple of months, we shall keep the hotel contact details handy for shorter business trips to London.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank checkedin186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Bermondsey Square Hotel is ideally situated for those looking to see the sights of london but with out the hussle and bustle. It's a 10 minute walk from London Bridge Tube and has a large courtyard in front, where I would say in the summer would be a great place to sip a beer and just people watch. Across the courtyard is a Sainsburys in case you've forgotten anything.

The hotel reception is small with the bar and restaurant to the left as you enter. This is the one area of the hotel that in my view stops it getting that 5th star. There isn't a great deal of seating for those just wanting to relax with a drink, the space is given over to Greg's bar and Grill( Greg being one of the presenters from Master Chef.). That said, the staff are great and knowledgeable about what they serve. A selection of 3/4 wines from both red and white.

Rooms are very spacious with a big work space ( free magazines to read). a mini fridge with water and Apple TV. The Apple player also has a CD/DVD player for you to watch your own stuff if you want. Wi fi is free so both business and personal visitors will never lose touch.

The beds are huge - they are 2 single beds zipped together with a single mattress on top. There is no nasty middle bit or zip to worry about fighting over.
Rooms are quiet with no road noise, a very peaceful nights sleep.
We didn't have breakfast, instead choosing to nip round the corner but if it is of the standard from their other hotels then it will be worth rolling out of bed for.

It has a spa and other facilities but due to our arrangements we missed out..Others though had a big smile so I would concur everything was more than in order.

All in all, great hotel and would definitely use again. Ideal for Tower Bridge/Tower of London etc..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spongegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Excellent stay. Was there two nights. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room cleanliness and furnishing superb. Room view was amazing could see shard guerkin and London eye. Tube station 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodgy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We only stayed for one night and we should of stayed for more. Very modern and cool hotel and by far the best stay we've had in London to date. We had the Lucy suite which has a hot tub. You probably need to leave the lid off for a good few hours because its boiling hot. The bed i could of slept in all day and had everything you need for a quality time. I could of fainted because the food was so good definitely a la carte. We paid 420 for our room but obviously there are cheaper ones for just as much luxury im sure. Its a little further than expected from the tube station so get a taxi or bring your running shoes because its 15 mins walk. We are definitely going again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#309 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing