We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for one night in a supeior room. Room was excellent, modern, clean and well kitted out. Friendly and efficient staff. Good location - ten minute walk to South Bank between Tower Bridge and London Bridge. Don't recommend the restaurant, see separate review of Gregg's Bar & Grill.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    521
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
133
635
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
s.yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked this hotel because of the reasonabe price. Stayed in a standard room and was not disappointed, very clean, comfortable, and a nice ambience, could see the Shard from our window. Quick check-in, Staff very polite and friendly. Did not use Greggs restaurant because we were meeting up with friends during our stay, however menu was reasonably priced and the food looked delicious. There is a Sainsbury's across the the Courtyard from the hotel for any bit's and pieces you may need. Hotel is in easy access to all public transport, the C10 bus stops outside the Hotel and goes to Victoria station. The Tower hill and Tower Bridge tube line is approx 10-15 mins walk away and the sights are well worth it. Do be Warned we ordered a taxi from the hotel and was given a runaround wanted West-end as we were booked for a show after 10mins in the taxi realised we was heading the wrong way. When we challenged the driver he tried saying we had given him the wrong address even though he took the std from our tickets. After a confrontation and still not at our destination 40mins later then we had started, got out of taxi and refused to pay more than £10.00p we were already 10mins late for the show. Our advice is turn right from the hotel to the end of the road then go left and flag a cab. Whilst being negative a mention of Madam Tussards £30 entrance not good value. Luckily we had 2-4-1 tickets otherwise would have been even more disappointed. Families with chidren under 5 complete waste of money. The Tower is a much better attraction and value, average price for a meal approx £10.00p, good choice and tasty. If you want a good value meal and drink not to far from the hotel then The Pommellers pub on Tower Bidge Road is on your doorstep 5mins walk. Staff friendly, food good choice, ample serving.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocknhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I chose this hotel because it had decent rates for overpriced London, good reviews, and would be easy to get to London Bridge/Canary Wharf/etc.
It did meet those expectations-and the room was a decent size and well appointed. There is no gym or breakfast. However, the area is perfect for jogs (across the Tower Bridge!) and there is a market just outside the hotel door. I would stay again if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Good hotel , ideal for bars and restaurants in Bermondsey St. We stayed here after as were our in Bermondsey st and it almost seemed cheaper than getting a cab all the way home!!!!. Really good value at £93!!!(room only). I also use this hotel for work when we have clients visiting London, a trendy boutique style hotel just a short distance from the City. Restaurant looks nice although we didn't try it, Rooms all have Apple TV, hairdryer, vital toiletries. They do charge for things like sewing kit etc which I think is a bit tight though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJohnson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Entrance is a bit dodgy... looks like an office entrance... so no fancy lobby or anything. But rooms are exellent.
Area is ok, a bit far away from the main attractions for tourists. But if you stay there for business in that area its a fine place with some good restaurants around for an uncomplicated informal lunch or diner.

Room Tip: Room with view on the square is nice and bright... not sure how the other rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have recently refurbished the restaurant and the reception is due for a makeover in the coming months. Please come back later in the year and let us know what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

After tirelessly searching for hotels in London, we happened up on this hotel with an excellent last minute deal on agoda. We read reviews on trip advisor for many different locations and we were afraid of all the bad reviews for other hotels. We wanted a clean, safe hotel in which we would have easy access to SE London. This hotel met and exceeded our expectations.

The hotel was nice and clean. The hotel staff was very helpful. WE had a young baby and we were very concerned about having a clean and safe place because the baby. She crawled around the room and we were happy the room was clean. The hotel area was very safe. We returned most nights very late and we did not have issues. The room was clean and the amenities were new. Internet was very fast. There was a restaurant downstairs and a food store in front of the hotel to buy things. Overall my family was very pleased with the staff, location and amenities of the hotel and we highly recommend the hotel and will stay here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We thought the hotel is brilliantly located and the rooms were really modern and clean.The service was really friendly and helpful. We booked on line and I noted that an easy accesible room would be helpful and we got just that so that made it all very easy (as I was on crutches) We will definitely return and hopefully be able to explore the area on foot next time.Wev really enjoyed the breakfast as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
London City Hotel
#211 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Lastminute, ACCOR and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing