We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay over easter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #303 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My stay with my parents & sister over the easter weekend at the bermondsey square was just brilliant. Close enough to the city center (5-10 minutes walk to tower bridge), new building / installments, supermarket & cinema nearby, excellent food & drinks, brilliant staff, lovely rooms, reasonable pricing: everything you need for a nice london trip. After reading a lot of ratings here I came to understand finding a decent hotel london seems to be problematic, so especially in this light I highly recommend the bermondsey square hotel! Team, thanks a lot, will come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
There are newer reviews for The Bermondsey Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in a large family room with a nice view over the park and the small square. Woke up to an antique market one day and a local produce market the next day.

Bring your own conditioner, the bee friendly produced shampoo will not do the work.

The continental breakfast was plentiful with fantastic butter croissants, fresh fruit salad and a collection of tea and coffee. The kids were served hot chocolate.

The restaurants in Bermondsey Street were surprisingly good and had a good selection of various kitchens.

Will definitely come back a recommend - thank you!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for one night in a supeior room. Room was excellent, modern, clean and well kitted out. Friendly and efficient staff. Good location - ten minute walk to South Bank between Tower Bridge and London Bridge. Don't recommend the restaurant, see separate review of Gregg's Bar & Grill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Booked this hotel because of the reasonabe price. Stayed in a standard room and was not disappointed, very clean, comfortable, and a nice ambience, could see the Shard from our window. Quick check-in, Staff very polite and friendly. Did not use Greggs restaurant because we were meeting up with friends during our stay, however menu was reasonably priced and the food looked delicious. There is a Sainsbury's across the the Courtyard from the hotel for any bit's and pieces you may need. Hotel is in easy access to all public transport, the C10 bus stops outside the Hotel and goes to Victoria station. The Tower hill and Tower Bridge tube line is approx 10-15 mins walk away and the sights are well worth it. Do be Warned we ordered a taxi from the hotel and was given a runaround wanted West-end as we were booked for a show after 10mins in the taxi realised we was heading the wrong way. When we challenged the driver he tried saying we had given him the wrong address even though he took the std from our tickets. After a confrontation and still not at our destination 40mins later then we had started, got out of taxi and refused to pay more than £10.00p we were already 10mins late for the show. Our advice is turn right from the hotel to the end of the road then go left and flag a cab. Whilst being negative a mention of Madam Tussards £30 entrance not good value. Luckily we had 2-4-1 tickets otherwise would have been even more disappointed. Families with chidren under 5 complete waste of money. The Tower is a much better attraction and value, average price for a meal approx £10.00p, good choice and tasty. If you want a good value meal and drink not to far from the hotel then The Pommellers pub on Tower Bidge Road is on your doorstep 5mins walk. Staff friendly, food good choice, ample serving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocknhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I chose this hotel because it had decent rates for overpriced London, good reviews, and would be easy to get to London Bridge/Canary Wharf/etc.
It did meet those expectations-and the room was a decent size and well appointed. There is no gym or breakfast. However, the area is perfect for jogs (across the Tower Bridge!) and there is a market just outside the hotel door. I would stay again if I need to be in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Good hotel , ideal for bars and restaurants in Bermondsey St. We stayed here after as were our in Bermondsey st and it almost seemed cheaper than getting a cab all the way home!!!!. Really good value at £93!!!(room only). I also use this hotel for work when we have clients visiting London, a trendy boutique style hotel just a short distance from the City. Restaurant looks nice although we didn't try it, Rooms all have Apple TV, hairdryer, vital toiletries. They do charge for things like sewing kit etc which I think is a bit tight though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJohnson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Entrance is a bit dodgy... looks like an office entrance... so no fancy lobby or anything. But rooms are exellent.
Area is ok, a bit far away from the main attractions for tourists. But if you stay there for business in that area its a fine place with some good restaurants around for an uncomplicated informal lunch or diner.

Room Tip: Room with view on the square is nice and bright... not sure how the other rooms are.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxgoldstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have recently refurbished the restaurant and the reception is due for a makeover in the coming months. Please come back later in the year and let us know what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#227 of 1,072 in London
723 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,367 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#88 of 1,072 in London
2,729 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#263 of 1,072 in London
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing