We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time had by all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #297 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

23 of us stayed at this hotel the rooms were lovely very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly we enjoyed coffee in the early hours of the morning after being out for a meal. Breakfast was great buffet style continental breakfast and cooked breakfast all lovely.
Would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: We had 12 rooms between us and all were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fdgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    542
    132
    44
    30
See reviews for
137
659
83
262
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a birthday celebration. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and it is very near to Tower Bridge. If you are travelling to london and want to be near the Tower of London this hotel would be perfect.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the square is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I booked this hotel through Red Letter days (a gift from work) for a one night stay on my boyfriends birthday. I cannot fault the hotel itself in terms of cleanliness, location and decoration. However, whilst the staff were efficient I didn't find them particularly friendly. My main complaint though relates to the wedding reception going on 3 floors below us. We were in room 307 & when we returned to it at about 11.30pm the noise was something else! Clearly a DJ playing thumping bass tunes! I called reception to find out how long this would be going on for and was advised until 1.30am. He said he would come up to close various fire doors to keep noise to a minimum but it made no difference..the function room clearly being 3 floors directly below us! Whilst I accept hotels will have functions and I certainly am not one to generally moan about loud music, I thought it was pretty poor that no-one had warned us when we checked in. At no point were we offered an alternative room and whilst he advised he would make a note on our booking details, there was absolutely no mention of it when we checked out nor any further apology. Beautiful hotel but I didn't feel the treatment of my complaint was dealt with in the manner I would expect of a top hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeevesWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Booked the Lucy suite as a birthday treat for my partner and was not disappointed - staff at reception, restaurant and bar all very helpful and friendly.
The terrace and hot tub were clean and private enough but did think that being asked for £100 deposit for the electric candles a bit of a cheek as the rate is not that cheap.
Room very clean, breakfast great choice and very impressed by Gregs' restaurant.
Bermondsey was a real surprise - obviously very up and coming and trendy - great spot for easy access to the Shard (book in advance - well worth it) and all of the south bank.
Happily reccommend this hotel.
Minor improvements - do away with the plastic conifers on Lucy suite terrace and put some one way mirror glass around the hot tub area for further privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaycoupleSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and could not fault a thing. The location was fantastic, a 10 minute walk to Tower Bridge and 15 minute walk to tube. The hotel was clean and contemporary. Our room was on the 5th floor and looked over the sqaure. As it was a sunny weekend everyone was sitting in the square, making the most of the bar and cafe opposite. Breakfast was lovely with quick service. Worth paying for the cooked breakfast when booking a room. Recommend you stay here for London Marathon weekend as you can easily walk to London Bridge to see the halfway point for the runners. I would stay here again and recommend to friends. Tea and coffee in the room and if you call reception they will bring you fresh milk within 5 minutes!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Is a fantastic trendy hotel near of the tower bridge, the neighborhood is calm but the Belmonsey square has 1 lounge and a terrace bar. The hoyel is amazing: a mix of trendy, colorful and comfortable without the ecofriendly and lovely amenities. The bed was so good that we became sleep for 2 hours in the power snap!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very quiet room due to perhaps very good sound-proofing with the quietest air conditioning system I have ever acquainted. The very clever interior deisgn makes the not so big room spacious. The bed is really comfortable and the desk attached in the back is highly functional. The lazy sunday offer (big discount if you stay on sundays + a day before or after) made me a very happy guest.
The hotel is 15 minutes walk, one straight road (Long Lane) from Borough Tube Station and in close proximity to a number of places. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. You will be able to find very detailed information in the most impressive guests' manual in the room. The manual is not only imformative but making a great effort on promoting local businesses.
Last but not least, Gregg's Table, restaurant at the hotel, won't disappoint you. I had two dinners and two breakfasts; tried the burger and lamp cutlets both were great but I was even more impressed by the glazed vegetables, mashed potatoes, salad, the caramelized apple and the pumpkin creme brulee! The eggs florentine is also highly recommendable!
It was very generous of the hotel to provide apple tv but I personal would prefer tv with a screen of 26" instead and perhaps a bit maintenance work in the room (furniture and hair dryer) would really help!
A big thank you to the Bermondsey Square Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#268 of 1,069 in London
2,113 reviews
London City Hotel
#244 of 1,069 in London
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,069 in London
4,044 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#83 of 1,069 in London
3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing