We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bermondsey Square Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bermondsey Square Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We chose this hotel for its convenient location. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the receptionist who appraised us of the facilities. The room was very comfortable and pleasant and included a working desk with several plugs for computers and equipment as well as good free wifi connection. A couple of niggles in the bathroom were quickly fixed by the resident technician. Another plus was the quiet location. We found the restaurant to be adequate but rather pricey, especially the breakfast, so we resorted to purchasing our own and consuming in the room which had good tea and coffee facilities. Would we stay here again? Unquestionably yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foinaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    522
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
133
636
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here for a week on business recently and found it a very nice hotel. The room (standard type) was quite large for London (certainly big enough for one person, may have been getting a bit cosy for two). Very comfortable bed, good blockout curtains. The bathroom is a decent size and the shower was great.

TV is provided via an iMac mounted on the wall which is a cute touch but I found the software they use for this a bit unreliable - it often needed to be power cycled to get it to work.

Wifi is free but in the room was very fast/reliable, although it did mostly work.

The bistro downstairs is very good quality - great breakfasts and great grill menu for dinner (I ended up having dinner there four times and did not have a bad meal).

The location is very convenient if you have business on the south bank. I'm not sure it would be a fantastic spot for tourists although you are only 20 minutes walk from the Borough market and Tower of London, these are also the nearest tube stops so you basically have a 20 minute walk every time you set out. There is a Barclay's Bike rack just behind the hotel which is very convenient..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Lovely rooms , clean, wifi very good, great view of the shard. Bar pleasant and breakfast in the morning fresh and quick. The hotel is situated in a lovely square opposite a lovely art house cinema and Moroccan restaurant, . 10 mins from London bridge, I will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurafarrimondyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

What a find. Best stay I've had in London!lovely large, clean room, fab view. Most comfortable bed in a hotel Beautiful bathroom and fantastic shower.Very friendly helpful staff and delicious food. well worth the walk from the tube!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We also used a Red Letter Day voucher to stay here as we couldnt afford a honeymoon. We were upgraded and I have to say the room was gorgeous. Designed to a very high spec and decorated in a very modern taste. It is worth staying here just for the showers! They are huge lol..We also ate in Gregs Bar & Grill and the food was not overly expensive considering the location. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Will def be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowlboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to transport links(London Bridge) and it was great in all ways. Clean room with comfy bed and surprisingly quiet. The bathroom smelt a bit stale but guess that was due to no extractor fan and the room was clean. Nice to wake up to an antiques market on Friday morning, followed by a foodie market the next morning. We ate good breakfasts in a cafe on the main road heading towards Bermondsey but did have a good evening meal in hotel restaurant one evening. Bermondsey Street is full of eateries, cafes, drinkeries and the odd gallery and leads you towards the river and tourist spots. Will definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We used a red letter day voucher on this hotel and picked it as it appeared fairly close to the 02 Arena but also in and around the tourist attractions and shops of London.
The hotel served its purpose but didn't really wow us or anything.
Firstly the location is a good 10 min walk from the nearest train or tube station (london bridge). This is a pain if you want to do some sightseeing etc (its not awful but if the weather's not great it's a taxi and thats £10 each one way trip.
The hotel was fine and clean, Apple TV's is sold as if its something extra special - its not!
I'm fairly savvy with technology but this thing was a nightmare to use.
Hotel clerk was not particularly welcoming but nor would i describe him as being rude either.
View was brilliant of the Shard.
Bathroom was clean
Bermondsey itself was a really nice part of London to walk around and explore.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Shard seemed very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pk30015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#209 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK and ACCOR so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing