We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a Hottub in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #287 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel with a Hottub in London”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here as part of a birthday treat,and it didn't disappoint.The Lucy room is a fantastic room on the top floor with an outdoor hot tub in London!(ideal for couples)The Hotel is within easy reach of local attractions.We did not have dinner here but had breakfast in the room which was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Harry269
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Loft Suite Lucy. Those views over the London Eye and Big Ben are fatastic and what better way to enjoy them than from your own hottub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    538
    128
    42
    30
See reviews for
134
653
80
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely hotel in a good location: just 15mins walking to London Bridge and near to many restaurants and bars.
Amazing decorations and delicious breakfast.
Downside is that a bit smallish rooms and no upgrade was offered thought it was an occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waidilute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Reviewer, delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do try to upgrade special occasions when our availability allows, but the hotel runs at very high occupancies and this is not always possible, so my apologies and congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was staying with 3 work colleagues and stayed for Saturday night. I was upgraded to the Eleanor Rigby Suite - which was fantastic, one of best suites I have ever stayed in. The bathroom had a plunge pool like bath which was a nice bit of luxury. Apple TV's everywhere.

The location of the Hotel is very central and close to high end Restaurants and a good old local British boozer !

The staff were excellent - front of house, bar and the breakfast staff.

Top marks goes to the Sunday morning chef - I had a full English and it was great to get a breakfast that had more than just one egg one sausage and one slice of bacon. There was so much that I didn't eat it all and he was worried that there was something wrong with it. There wasn't but it was great to see in these days of chefs being snooty he was genuinely interested into why I'd left food.

We also got a homemade Oat and Sultana cookie straight from the oven ! Again another example of the excellent service.

Keep up the good work !

Room Tip: Eleanor Rigby Suite is a good one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leetaylor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear LeeTaylor, there's always the next time. Hope you'll be back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My Other half and I stayed here In January this year, the location was really handy as we could just pop to the shops and get anything we needed, unfortunately I was poorly during this trip so had to return from shopping early to rest but it was lovely to get back to the hotel room. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the way the hotel was decorated was brilliant and unique.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelMew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Angelmew, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. So sorry to hear that you were poorly and hope that you will return to the hotel in the future and enjoy another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The room was clean and the amenities were very nice. Free in room WiFi that was very quick, the tv has a weird but very useful and intuitive system that I enjoyed and made selecting a channel very simple, especially for someone who doesn't know which channel is what.

Our room was always clean upon returning after going out in the mornings and the staff were very pleasant.

Our room only had a shower, which was fine but if that matters make sure.


The hotel is within a 10/15 min walk to both Borough and London Bridge stations as well as a bus just across the square and a block away.

*BONUS*
There is a Sainsbury Local dircectly across the square (200m) from the entrance, so don't worry about getting a few bottles of juice, some fresh fruit and snacks to keep in the mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here the last 2 nights of our vacation this past summer. Booked through Hotwire where you're taking a bit of a chance but went for it based on a good price for a 4 star hotel in the part of London we wanted.

Pros - walking distance to Tower of London/Tower Bridge, Globe Theater and Tate Modern museum. Our 2nd floor standard room was a good size with a large comfortable bed, fridge and huge shower. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and printing of online tickets and boarding passes. Continental breakfast was very nice with good selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, etc. Having the sainbury's store directly across the square was very handy for picking up drinks and snacks.

Cons - it's a 15 minute hike to the nearest tube station and knowing that in advance would have likely meant booking elsewhere (disadvantage of booking through Hotwire). A working fan in the bathroom would have been appreciated to reduce the great volumes of steam created by the shower. As others have mentioned the Apple TV was confusing, requiring a visit by a staff member to reboot the system and give us a lesson on its operation.

Overall a good stay but next time will probably book somewhere we know is closer to a tube station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Poolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Poolguy
Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to hear that we have now made the decision to replace the iMac TV's with regular 32" TV's in the New Year. It has been rather a Marmite situation. Some guests have loved them, other's not so. Hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Bermondsey Square Hotel for a Saturday night when we were going to a party in London. We arrived about 4pm and we given one of the disabled rooms, overlooking the square. This was really nice as the room and bathroom were very large. The decoration was extremely good, and the disabled facilities (the pull cords and bathroom supports were discreet and it was lovely to have a big wet room shower.

My husband loved the Apple computer/TV/music system and the hotel got extra stars from me for providing fresh milk, a fridge, decaffinated coffee and conditioner!

The service was excellent, including the speed that items were sent to our room late in the evening and the continental breakfast was very good value with good croissants, brie and fresh fruit salad included. The full breakfasts also looked very tempting with everything cooked fresh and eggs benedict amongst the items on the menu.

Our only criticism was that the Daily Mail was the newspaper provided free outside every door. This may be offensive to some guests and is certainly a divisive choice. We would suggest a selection of free papers available in the reception rather than a tie-in with a single paper.

Room Tip: The disabled rooms are lovely and big with a large wetroom shower, without comprimising on decoratio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear GreenPanda
Thanks for your review, sorry about our choice of paper. Monday to Saturday we include a complimentary copy of the i newspaper but as they do not have a Sunday edition we assumed that the Mail was well read even if its only the pictures in You magazine. A question of preference I guess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#127 of 1,067 in London
647 reviews
London City Hotel
#241 of 1,067 in London
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#271 of 1,067 in London
2,087 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#301 of 1,067 in London
1,955 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing