We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bermondsey square hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #292 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bermondsey square hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Charming accommodation with a staff that is engaging and will make things easy during your stay. Our room was quite small and had six connected walls. It worked fine for us because we came to view sites not stay in the room. Tube connection was only a mile away; but we enjoyed the walk and found several places serving the most unique and delicious soup along the way. The one time we had a problem with a taxi, the hotel staff fixed it immediately.
Our dinner in their restaurant was stunning, both in artistic display and quantity of scrumptious cuisine. There was no possibility of sampling their dessert after consuming most of the dinner.
OUTSTANDING choice for ambulatory seniors who want expert advice, complete customer care, and a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We used Hotwire for our reservation and had a nice room on the second floor (elevators).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    532
    128
    41
    30
See reviews for
134
648
80
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and a lovely en suite bathroom. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the tower bridge railway and tube station. The staff are friendly. The restaurant, however, is not good. Eat out!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked in to the Bermondsey Square Hotel based on location close to friends. The check-in, check-out was efficient, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was OK, though not particularly inspiring.

Couldn't really give it more than three stars as the shower, though powerful, was poorly designed and leaked (door opened outwards so you couldn't soak anything up with the shower mat); there was some mould in the grouting; the iMac used as a TV are a terrible idea - really glitchy and you constantly had to turn it on and off at the wall; and the free wifi was very temperamental (we only got it working once!). The bed also wasn't that comfortable for us as we found it too bouncy, although that was just personal preference.

All in all, it was a fine stay and relatively comfortable - just nowhere near as good as other places we've stayed for similar prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Do not stay at this hotel - EVER!!!!! I booked a room for two nights and cancelled over the phone for the first night and they denied I made the call and then forced me to pay £250 for the canclled room an the basis that they would not allow me to stay the second night if I did not pay - I am sure this has to be illegal but in any case making a guest pay fo teir own mistake is shocking!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
13 Thank Eleanor1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Eleanor1977
As we discussed on your arrival, it was clearly stated on your reservation that you had selected a non-refundable rate. You have no cancellation reference and you are unable to tell me who you spoke to in my team and noone remembers your call. As a gesture of goodwill I agreed to discount the cancellation fee from £350 to £250, but with the hotel full and turning away business that night we have charged the cancellation that you had agreed at the time of booking. Thank you for sharing this with other Trip advisor members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel over the weekend 19th and 20th October. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. The room was lovely, looking out over the Square. Given its location we expected traffic noise, but heard none. The room was nicely laid out and we'll equipped. We loved the shower. All the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evaper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Evaper21
Thank you so much for your kind review. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here over the weekend and enjoyed our accomodation. The full breakfasts were freshly cooked to order and the choice was good too. Just one little thing they could alter is that the fruit juice and milk althought positioned in an ice bucket did very quickly become warm. Other than that top marks.We ate in Greggs on the saturday evening which was absolutely gorg. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating , helpful and friendly. I agree with other comments on reveiws that the apple tv system is awkward to use but hey ho we got through it all.
All in all it was a good choice and would reccomend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 414 which overlooked the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A night at the hotel with a 3 course dinner and breakfast with Red Letter Days. The room was clean abd well furnished. Bathroom was great. Dinner was fantastic with some really innovative and delicious touches. Breakfast was very good and front of house and waiting staff were really attentive. We also had a fantastic view of the Shard.

Room Tip: Ask for a Shard view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 606Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#224 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#124 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#309 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing