We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #305 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here for 2 nights bed breakfast just after Christmas with my partner. Firstly Its approx a 10 min walk from london bridge tube station which is convenient however does get a little tiresome after the 10th time to and fro dropping bags showering heading out heading home collecting bags etc etc bear this in mind!. Nice modern clean hotel, good service and breakfast was excellent. We had the continental bfast in booking but upgraded to full english for £5 which is very reasonable. Rooms very nice spacious and we had a great view of the shard. Bathroom clean with big shower rainforest drench shower head all usual complementarys. Bermondsey high street nice there looked to be a few quirky shops/pubs/bars and cafes there although we stuck to the more touristy side of things. Didnt use the restaurant other than for bfast so cant comment menu seemed nice tho. Would use again and would recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,354)
There are newer reviews for The Bermondsey Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for just one night at this hotel between Christmas and New Year. We were a little unsure when we booked thinking it might be a bit off the beaten track, but because there was a very good offer price we thought we would try it out. Very pleasantly surprised. There are some nice restaurants and a couple of good pubs close by and it is an easy walk down to the Thames embankment at Butlers Wharf and towards London Bridge. Maltby Street market (Saturdays) is just a short walk away and Borough Market is just a little further. As our visit was quite short we did not eat in the hotel, the night we were there the restaurant was very quiet and so seemed to lack some atmosphere and we did not take breakfast. The reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Check in was straightforward. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the square. The room was very pleasant, clean and well designed. The nearest underground is a bit of a walk if you have luggage with you otherwise ok but there are also plenty of bus routes very close to the hotel. We would certainly recommend the hotel for great value for money in a good location.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floors are best
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beauf0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday nights). Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean and smart. Tea & coffee facilities and fridge for personal use. If I had to be picky disappointed that there was no covered area for hanging clothes. Buffet breakfast was included in our deal, with an option to purchase a cooked options. Easy walking distance from London Bridge and Borough Market.

Room Tip: Although our rooms were on the side of the road, we had no sound of traffic, but did have great view...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMGSteyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

You're welcome back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Found a great deal on the hotels website and was impressed

Good – fast check in, nicely decorated, room 512 very clean and comfortable with a view from the Eye on the left past the Shard to the Gherkin on the right, free wifi, 2 minutes walk to Manze pie & mash, few seconds walk to Bermondsey Street with hip shops, restaurants & bars

Bad – nothing, we thought it a quicker and more pleasant walk from London Bridge tube than Borough although the diversion due to railway improvements is a bit of a pain

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review. The improvements at London Bridge have been testing but Bermondsey Street offers some delightful opportunies for a rest stop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Overall really happy with my experience with my boyfriend in this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights over New Year. We used the restaurant downstairs, which was also lovely! The staff are friendly, especially a "middle aged" gentleman who served us on New Years eve. He brought a good atmosphere to the place!

The rooms are great, our room had a large window overlooking the court (sainsburys opposite). The room was great though. Really clean, SUPER comfy bed, the only thing I could possibly moan about is not having enough sugar to put in my coffee in the morning, haha!

The hotel is about a 20 min walk to a tube station, so it's not too bad. It was raining when we went so this was a

Would recommend!

Room Tip: 206 - Nice soundproof room, good size, great comfy bed!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we loved the area of bermondsey. Close to galleries, such as the white cube, shops restaurant s etc. bus service frequent into centre. The rooms are stylish, but we did not like the stuffy atmosphere, no windows which open, therefore no fresh air. Quiet, yes, but at a price. Seemingly you have to book a suite to get a window.

Room Tip: we loved the area of bermondsey. Close to galleries, such as the white cube, shops restaurant s etc...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Uniform size and good showers are two of the positives from being a new build, non opening windows are a negative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very clean and well appointed rooms. Hotel staff were helpful. Breakfast of a poor standard and service in the restaurant was a bit chaotic. This was disappointing as using a celebrity "foodie" name one would have expected a much higher standard of food. We booked in for the Xmas dinner which was again disappointing. Would have done better with a microwave meal from Iceland. If you plan to spend most of your leisure time away from the hotel getting to the attractions requires some time and planning to get to Central London. Fortunately my wife and I are keen walkers and managed to get to the nearest tube station at either Borough or London Bridge in 15 minutes. OK if you haven't got luggage to haul and the weather is dry.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are quite adequate for overnight accommodation but I would give breakfast a miss a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Mike W
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry that your experiences of our restaurant were not as memorable and would like to reassure you of our commitment to quality and apologize for what must have been an off day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#226 of 1,072 in London
723 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,365 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#89 of 1,072 in London
2,727 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#265 of 1,072 in London
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £114 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing