We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Central London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #268 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Central London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Bermondsey Square Hotel and each time the service, food and ambience in the hotel have been 1st class.
You get very good value for money, the food and drink are reasonably priced (and large portions!!). There isn't an expensive large gym, business centre, car park etc which inevitably you would be paying for but probably not using!
The rooms are very well laid out with great London views and a super-comfortable bed :-)
The bathroom has a shower with the largest shower head you are likely to ever see, so guaranteed to get you going in the morning!
Breakfast was very nice and a wide choice, most of the staff serving were European with excellent english and really friendly and helpful.
The free beer (or wine) in the bar on check-in was very enjoyable and nice that they gave a pint rather than cutting costs with a smaller measure!!
On the few occasions we needed to, we got a taxui right outside very easily, although the hotel is just a 10 minute walk from London Bridge station - so in a very nice location, with bars and restaurants all around and a small supermarket and cinema just across the 'square'.
We use this hotel when we are at an exhibition at the ExCel, so although not very close, we are happy to travel to/from because it is such a nice place to stay - a real London gem, with a friendly 'home from home' atmosphere.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2nd floor, so easy to use the stairs as well as the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillFozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    529
    124
    38
    29
See reviews for
134
642
80
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel offered excellent value for money. The location is really convenient for all the South Bank. Continental Breakfast and the evening dining experience were of very good quality and value. The staff were really pleasant and helpful when I telephoned and proved to be equally so during the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for business and also had 2 meeting here the next day. Good sized rooms with nice wet room. Took me a while to figure out the Apple Mac System but got there in the end. Pleasant staff and good breakfast. Will return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNewEllington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here for 2 nights bed breakfast just after Christmas with my partner. Firstly Its approx a 10 min walk from london bridge tube station which is convenient however does get a little tiresome after the 10th time to and fro dropping bags showering heading out heading home collecting bags etc etc bear this in mind!. Nice modern clean hotel, good service and breakfast was excellent. We had the continental bfast in booking but upgraded to full english for £5 which is very reasonable. Rooms very nice spacious and we had a great view of the shard. Bathroom clean with big shower rainforest drench shower head all usual complementarys. Bermondsey high street nice there looked to be a few quirky shops/pubs/bars and cafes there although we stuck to the more touristy side of things. Didnt use the restaurant other than for bfast so cant comment menu seemed nice tho. Would use again and would recommend!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for just one night at this hotel between Christmas and New Year. We were a little unsure when we booked thinking it might be a bit off the beaten track, but because there was a very good offer price we thought we would try it out. Very pleasantly surprised. There are some nice restaurants and a couple of good pubs close by and it is an easy walk down to the Thames embankment at Butlers Wharf and towards London Bridge. Maltby Street market (Saturdays) is just a short walk away and Borough Market is just a little further. As our visit was quite short we did not eat in the hotel, the night we were there the restaurant was very quiet and so seemed to lack some atmosphere and we did not take breakfast. The reception and bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Check in was straightforward. We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the square. The room was very pleasant, clean and well designed. The nearest underground is a bit of a walk if you have luggage with you otherwise ok but there are also plenty of bus routes very close to the hotel. We would certainly recommend the hotel for great value for money in a good location.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beauf0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights (Friday & Saturday nights). Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean and smart. Tea & coffee facilities and fridge for personal use. If I had to be picky disappointed that there was no covered area for hanging clothes. Buffet breakfast was included in our deal, with an option to purchase a cooked options. Easy walking distance from London Bridge and Borough Market.

Room Tip: Although our rooms were on the side of the road, we had no sound of traffic, but did have great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMGSteyning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
You're welcome back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Found a great deal on the hotels website and was impressed

Good – fast check in, nicely decorated, room 512 very clean and comfortable with a view from the Eye on the left past the Shard to the Gherkin on the right, free wifi, 2 minutes walk to Manze pie & mash, few seconds walk to Bermondsey Street with hip shops, restaurants & bars

Bad – nothing, we thought it a quicker and more pleasant walk from London Bridge tube than Borough although the diversion due to railway improvements is a bit of a pain

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review. The improvements at London Bridge have been testing but Bermondsey Street offers some delightful opportunies for a rest stop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#220 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#123 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#308 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#172 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing