We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #306 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely hotel - perfect location for us when we needed a weekend in London for a wedding in the City. Some problems with the floor in the dining room which was disappointing as there was exposed pipework everywhere. Room was lovely with a great bathroom. Shower was disappointing - looked amazing but no pump so water pressure was poor. Wonderful bed with beautiful linen and perfect mattress. And an amazing English breakfast on Sunday morning. Thank you.

Room Tip: Two sides to the hotel - rooms overlooking the market and Square or with views of The Shard and the...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,356)
There are newer reviews for The Bermondsey Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

it would be difficult to fault the hotel is in a good location, and is so clean. We loved the weekend we stayed. The checking was flawless the staff were really helpful, we did not eat in the restaurant but had a drink in the bar, the bar staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Over looking the square
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you Diver G
We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We got three nights at this hotel through Hotwire and felt like we had won the lottery. The location is an easy 10 minute walk (New Yorker walk...15 minutes for more leisurely types) to London Bridge Underground Station and Railway. The room was chic, with soft linens and a great bathroom. The hotel is in a real neighborhood, with a grocery store across the plaza, a cinema (with a bar!) and a couple of decent restaurants. Avoid the hotel restaurant, it's overpriced and pretty awful. We had Sunday breakfast upon our arrival, because we were too tired to wander the neighborhood for something and it was one of the worst we had in England. The staff were helpful, giving us early check-in as soon as a room was available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Roadtrip_Survivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear UK Roadtrip
Thank you for your review. I hope that when you start the UK Roadtrip 2014 you will choose to stay with us again and enjoy the changes that we have made to the restaurant since your stay last September

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights during February at this hotel. We had a very pleasant time. I chose it because it was near Guys hospital. It meant that we could easily attend treatment and buzz about central London. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our twin bed double room was spacious, well equipped and clean. Our beds were really comfortable. We ate in the hotels restaurant where lovely Maria made us very welcome and looked after us well. All in all a very successful stay and we will definitely return.
Linda T

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good base for visiting London and some nice places to eat and drink close by. Shame the restaurant staff are quite unfriendly and some times rude. Had lunch there when we arrived on our first day and although the food was excellent decided that, apart from breakfast, we wouldn't eat there again. Were not made to feel welcome at all.
Room was clean and the chambermaids were all charming. Had a problem with the loo, the seat came off, and the expellair was not working in the bathroom. When reported at reception the seat was repaired very quickly, but the expellair was not and no explaination was offered as to why.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed for two night was very happy , very clean comfy beds staff were so friendly will defo go back again , only thing that I may say was not fantastic was the bar & grill menu very limited would thought they would have offered more steaks & grills that name says , we did eat there but food not hot & being the only people eating was a little disappointing , , I do hope this can be changed as I said I take my hat off the the lovely staff your restaurant should be buzzing

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you Highstone1
We have had a new Head Chef start at the beginning of February and I am pleased to report that his cooking is being well received by our guests. I hope that you'll try us again on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Its always so hard when you have to come to London and the dog needs to come to. Bermondsey Square Hotel welcomes your dog as much as you. Our dog is big. Hs a hunt dog so he's slobbery and there was no problem at all. We sat in the bar, ate a meal and even got served a childs portion in a dog bowl all with smiles and assistance.
On top of that the foo was excellent, the bedroom well designed and the shower rather special!
Great hotel, great food, fantastic service and all within a stones throw of Tower Bridge!

Room Tip: A quiet corner room over looking the square...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Laura N
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are not just Dog friendly, we have also welcomed baby Aligators and Owls since I've been here. Look forward to welcoming you and your dog back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
London City Hotel
#230 of 1,072 in London
724 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#83 of 1,072 in London
3,370 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#87 of 1,072 in London
2,729 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#266 of 1,072 in London
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £114 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing