We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Bermondsey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #270 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Bermondsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We ve spent two nice nights at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The hotel is near the Bermondsey Street, where the pub's and Restaurant's are located. We had a room on the top floor, where the rooms are differently (colors) furnished. They are quite stylish and have a little balcony (which is very uncommon in London!). Breakfast was small, but tasty. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book the one s on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sladjana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Sladjana
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Loft Suites. They are all themed with iconic 1970's pop memorabilia and offer small terraces to enjoy the views over the square below. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    521
    123
    38
    29
See reviews for
133
635
80
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarzana, Italy
Level Contributor
379 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Ok, it’s not in the typical and usual city center, but it’s in a nice area that is growing really fast in terms of services and attractions. It’s at walk distance from London bridge and over that area you can find lot of restaurants and tea rooms. Quality of the sleep is fair, I prefer more dark in the room, but it’s ok as the surrounding area is very very quiet. Rooms are clean and nice and personnel is very professional and prepared. I can suggest for business staying.

Room Tip: The only Jacuzzi is in the top floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GriGio91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Orione91
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The area is improving all the time. National Rail are currently investing £8billion into London Bridge so the changes will continue to be noticed. I hope that you return to see the developments soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my wife and we were very happy with the hotel. It a nice comfortable hotel, both the room and bathroom were a nice size, not huge but probably slightly bigger than similar rooms in similar hotels. It was also extremely clean which is always good to see. The staff were pretty friendly too, and there's a pretty nice restaurant too, we only had lunch here mind you. (We'd highly recommend the burger)

The hotel is about ten minutes walk from Borough Street tube station, we'd probably have preferred to be slightly closer to the tube but ten minutes isn't too bad.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had found this hotel by making an internet search for hotels close to the Shard so it fulfilled our most important criterion. However, we were delighted to discover what other benefits it offered. Close to the city centre, and within easy walking distance of London Bridge tube station, the hotel is comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly,welcoming and efficient. Sitting on Bermondsey Square, the hotel is away from the main traffic flow and just opposite a small independent cinema. Bermondsey itself is a fascinating area of London, with many independent shops and restaurants. This is a great base for exploring London, as it links not just with transport networks but with the Thames walkway, providing easy access to a means of exploring London on foot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellightScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I recently stayed at the The Bermondsey Square hotel as it was in walking distance of my works London Bridge office. The location was great for what I needed, and I was looking forward to a good night sleep after a busy team day. Unfortunately this was not the case...

The walls of my room seemed to be paper thin, so I could hear my neighbours TV well into the early hours. There also seemed to be a problem with the air-con which was quite annoying. When it was turned on the sound of a dripping tap could be heard.. Chinese water torture was my first thought as I was still awake at 2;30am. The final disturbance of the night was at 4am with the delightful sounds of furniture being dragged across the floor in the room above me.

I don't think this is a bad hotel, and I believe I just caught it on a dodgy night and had a bad room, However, I think I'll look at the availability of other hotels before returning in a rush.

The hotel staff were very friendly, rooms were clean with a comfy bed and the price is good for the location. Its saving grace for me was the full English breakfast... That really hit the spot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Dmaw1
I am so sorry that your sleep was interrupted during your stay. The volumes on the TV set's are set at a maximum level that shouldn't disturb neighboring rooms but at night with ambient noise levels much lower, I can only apologize that this was not low enough. Please do let me know when you are next returning and I will endeavor to allocated a room at the end of the corridor without neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked this after finding a deal online and we're slightly apprehensive. We have stayed in many hotels in London and usually find you get basic rooms for a lot of money. In this case I was proven wrong. This hotel is fabulous on all accounts and considering it's only a short £2.40 bus ride from theatre land, is exceptional reasonable. Breakfast was included and delicious. We had comfy beds, very clean room and fabulous shower. The decor on the outside does not reflect the inside. We will definitely be back and this will be our 'go to' place for London. Hallelujah for a hotel that has finally got it right!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules2cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had the best nights sleep in a hotel for ages, such comfortable beds and lovely quality bed linen. Clean room on the 4th floor with lovely view of Londons sights. Great shower and nice big fluffy towels. Good value for a London hotel.
Had meal in the GB grill which was okay but not fantastic, will try a local restaurant next time as there are plenty in the area to choose from

Room Tip: 4th floor+
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs01462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
London City Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Property: The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood.Gregg Wallace's latest restaurant venture, Gregg's Bar & Grill, is open at the Bermondsey Square Hotel. The warm decor in the Restaurant is in line with the Hotels 70s style and the menu in Gregg's is focused on good key ingredients, unadulterated by complicated flavors and reliant on good provenance and sourcing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing