We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Ranked #319 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good location for sightseeing which was the main reason for our trip, loads of attractions within walking distance. Really comfortable beds, spacious rooms, lovely food in the GB Grill & Bar. All staff were very helpful, polite and attentive during our 2 night stay especially Amelia & Claire on the reception. Would definitely recommend to others and hopefully stay again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having read other reviews we were really looking forward to staying here but I won't hurry back. The check-in experience was robot like with hardly any eye contact and it was exactly what we had just heard being said to the person stood in front. We had paid the bill in full before arriving but were required to produce the same credit card to 'pre-authorise' any extras. Extra what exactly? There was no mini bar.
The room was clean and comfortable with a great view of The Shard... But the furniture was worn, the walls scuffed, the shower door handle very loose and the bathroom extractor fan didn't work.
The sound-proofing between rooms wasn't good either.
We are left feeling a bit disappointed although as concluded by others the hotel is in a good location for exploring London with a few fab local restaurants on the doorstep.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Karen R
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will certainly address the points that you have raised with my team as they are not the impression that we would like to give and I must apologize for the experience you have had. I would like to reassure you that these are out of character and hope that you will return to a different experience should you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Recently stayed at Bermondsey for two nights and was very pleased with the staff and their attentive, well organised and fast service. Front desk was really friendly and initiative, attended to all my needs and more, and the hotel itself was clean, tasteful, and very relaxing. Just what you need in busy London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra Sabri... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

How lovely to be welcomed with such genuine smiles and friendliness from the reception staff every time we came in ... We felt like we had known them for years even though we only stayed the weekend. After reading some of the other reviews, this was a lovely surprise and we loved little Amelia. The rest of the hotel was great and the room and bathroom didn't disappoint. Loved the location and cannot fault anything else

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarahwj56zze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I watched hotel GB avidly and promised that we would visit the hotel next time we were in London. The reception staff greeted us with big smiles room fantastic and just the base for a London site seeing trip.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick0teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Nick0teen
Hotel GB was fun but I prefer to be running the hotel with my team. It was at times frustrating that we were unable to provide the guests with the service that we would like to believe the hotel has become known for. Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a wedding reception at the Bermondsey square hotel on Saturday 10th May 2014 and it was fantastic, from the minute we sent over the enquiry to the night of the reception the communication was superb, Gemma Brant the Business Development manager ensured all the prep for the party was done before she handed it over to Paul and his team on the day. Paul and his staff couldn’t do enough for you, not only were they helpful they also came with a friendly smile! The service we received was excellent and I cannot recommend them enough. THANK YOU to all at the Bermondsey square hotel for making our reception run without a hitch!

Excellent service!

Thank you to Gemma, Paul and the entire team working on the evening of May 10th

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently and had a very pleasant stay. The room layout was excellent while it was very peaceful and relaxing. The room was also a good size and contained good quality toiletries. Price-wise, I think it offers good value for money considering the quality of the hotel.

Having visited many hotels around the world, I was exceptionally impressed at the level of service from staff. They couldn't have done more for us during our stay and were professional throughout. Will certainly be staying again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Adam P
I appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel and am delighted that you approve of the room layout. I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southwark
Residence Inn London Bridge
Residence Inn London Bridge
#487 of 1,078 in London
48 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#307 of 1,078 in London
2,062 reviews
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#171 of 1,078 in London
746 reviews
London City Hotel
#244 of 1,078 in London
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#242 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Business Hotel in London
#286 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £94 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bermondsey Square Hotel is located in the heart of ever evolving Bermondsey, with its thriving restaurant, bar and club scene, art galleries, design studios and boutique shops. A short distance from the City, the Design Museum, Borough Market, Tate Modern and Tower Bridge, it is ideally located to visit some of London’s finest sights whilst staying in an up and coming neighbourhood. The hotel's in-house restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is open to both in-house Guests and walk ins. From May, throughout the summer, diners can enjoy food and beverage from the comfort of the hotel's terrace soaking up the atmosphere of the vibrant square. Complimentary tea and filter coffee is served daily from 11am - 5pm. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing