We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in China Town”

The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden
Ranked #17,788 of 27,042 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: It is located on the corner of Gerrard Street and Macclesfield Street in the heart of London's Chinatown and easily recognised from our traditional Green Tiled Pagoda entrance Spread over 3 floors and lavishly decorated, the restaurant seats up to 150 guests and it also has a private room for special requests. When making your order, be sure to try some of our Chef's signature dishes such as Crispy Duck, Fresh Lobster with dry chilli and garlic, House Supreme Hot Pot and the ultimate special Three Kinds of Mixed Barbecue Meat. No booking is required. Walk-ins are welcome during our opening hours.
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Very good service and excellent selection of dim sum dishes! Many people queuing up to eat at the restaurant. Make sure to come just before midday to get a table no problem. Very well priced and filling.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank daisydoll92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review, your comments are very helpful to us and indeed encouraging. I am glad that you had a most enjoyable time with us and I will pass this to the restaurants management and all the hard working staff. They will endeavour to continue to provide high standards of customer service and quality food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2015

We visited in the early evening when nearly all the restaurants on Gerrard Street were full and many also with queues. However here we did not have to wait too long before we were seated.
The staff are really efficient and work hard, with little time for niceties.
However the food was generally quite tasty and the portion sizes decent. The house wine that accompanied it was okay, even though a little expensive for what it was.
We have visited many Chinese in this area over the years and it's always a bit of a lottery as to what standard you find you get. This was one of the better ones.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this honest review, your comments are very helpful to us. Although, we always try to maintain consistently high service standards in some circumstances we recognise that we still have some way to go. That said, I am glad that you found our food pleasant.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

For some reason the owners have NT taken the previous name of the Lotus Garfen from the front.
I had roast pok bbuns chickens feet in black bean sauce and chicken mushroom sausage and rice.With Chinese tea the bil came to£12.10.The food was fine though the chicken was a bit chewy and there were only 2 small pieces of sausage.Srrvice was fine and a reasonable meal

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your comments are very important to us. They will help us continuously to improve our service standards and quality of food served. The restaurants new management (hence the restaurant name change) will actively seek to build upon the best of its inherited services to become an exemplar with in London's Chinatown.

It is, therefore, extremely regretful that your recent experience at the Lotus Gardens did not fully meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and be assured will look into the points you rise in seeking to enhance our services.

Once again, thank you for your comments, they were really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Chinatown restaurant catering to the masses. Reasonable food, but lacking anything in depth or sophistication. Staff pleasant.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this positive review, we really appreciated.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

I went there with 4 children having travelled to London from Hampshire. I was told they had tables available on the second floor, and having accepted the booking I was then told there was no lift, and hobbled to the table with crutches in hand. We were shown to our table and I asked if we could have a clean table rather than the one allocated, and was met by the immediate response that the table was not dirty, but they proceeded to give me an alternative and took the hint and cleaned the table. One of the girls, the youngest in the group asked for a chicken dish, and it was only when we reminded the waiter that he eventually furnished us with that meal, once it had been cooked. I just wanted to get out of there and asked for the bill, and 10 minutes later after being ignored decided to get up and leave, which suddenly resulted in some activity. As I hobbled down the stairs, I was pushed aside by waiters and customers coming up, and it was only when I suggested that they allow me to descend first that they became enlightened. There are much better restaurants in Chinatown - give this one a miss.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pfrancis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ping H, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Dear Customer

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry to hear that you had unpleasant experience while dining at the Lotus Gardens Restaurant. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Due to the restaurant being extremely busy on Boxing Day and with the ground floor was full there was, unfortunately no choice but to allocate a table for your family on the second floor. However, you are quite correct that staff should have provided more assistance to you rather than being rude and reluctant to help. I will discuss this with the management, along with the attitudes you encountered, urging them to improve the standard of customer service. We fully endorse the code that all Customers with disability should receive more and appropriate attention and assistance.

Once again, thank you for your comments, they were really appreciated and will certainly help us to improve our service standards and quality of food served.

Best Regards!

Ping H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden also viewed

 

Been to The Golden Pagoda AKA The Lotus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing