We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cocktails and lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devonshire Terrace

Devonshire Terrace
Ranked #4,665 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$20 - US$31
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Just five minutes from Liverpool Street station, Devonshire Terrace is a highly original destination in the heart of the City. Inside: a spacious, relaxed restaurant and four private dining rooms. Outside: two balconies in a courtyard terrace, one covered by a high glass roof. Night or day, sitting or standing, Devonshire Terrace is the perfect place to meet friends and colleagues, plan your next takeover and celebrate success.
York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A very good bar, conveniently close to Liverpool Street Station. As a now less-regular-than-I-used-to-be (sadly) visitor to London, I no longer have an immediate list of bars in which I’d feel comfortable sitting alone as well as meeting friends/colleagues, but this is now top of my list. All staff were extremely friendly, and kept a sharp and professional eye on what was happening throughout. The cocktails were very good indeed. Our visit was on the cusp of a new cocktail menu, with a relatively new cocktail maestro, aka Antonio. This man really knows his stuff, and each of the cocktails he made for us was perfectly balanced and exceptionally good.

I see that not all reviews here are as positive. I don’t know whether we were just lucky or if there’s been a turnaround in general, but I’ll certainly go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr-D-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    46
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Went there for lunch a few weeks ago with a friend. The food was excellent but the service wasn't.

The girl that served us was not very friendly and very rude (red hair, polish ?), it looked like it was so painfull for her to be there. She was incapable of smiling and respond straight away whilst the restaurant was quite empty. She might even be manager as she wasn't wearing the shirt that all waiters and bartenders were wearing.

Fortunatly for us, the food was exquisite and levelled up a bit the experience.

We were very disappointed to see that this restaurant that looks really amazing and that serves excellent food can accept manager as this one.

Anyway, I heard that the cocktails are really nice over there. Maybe someday I'll go back, but don't want to see the red hair girl again !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lets do Lunch with the wife!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Popped in for a quick bite to eat and non achoholic drink. I had the burger, great value and very tasty. Good attentative staff and what you would expect for a business place, quick in and quick out. Nice spot in the summer especially if it is wet as the outside is completely covered.
Food is what you would expect from a chain but with a little more sophistication than a low end chain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyeater631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Business lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

13/1/2014 - The venue is spacious and well lit, but the bench seats and some of the decor is a little tired. Service is good and after letting the waiters know we had limited time they worked effectively to ensure we made our next appointment.
Smoked Salmon starter was good and I do recommend this but the Rib-eye was a tough cut and slightly over cooked on one side, ( medium rare requested).
Reasonably priced wine.
Dirty coffee cup or rather cup with a tide mark not great way to finish the meal. My guests however had no complaints.
Will revisit and give the team a second chance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tinselhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Leaving Drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We came here for a leaving party and had a good night, food was good although drinks are quite pricy but the terrace is a welcome addition.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAshby_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devonshire Terrace also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Devonshire Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing