We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner in the CIty”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,170 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City of London
Transit: Bank station - take King William Street exit, take 3rd right turning off King William Street into Abchurch Lane. Abchuch Yard is sited a little further down on the right hand side. Cannon Street Station - turn right out of station and take 3rd turning on the left into Abchurch Lane. Abchurch Yard is sited to the left.
Description: Tucked away in a cobbled yard moments from the City of London���s Cannon Street station, Harry���s Bar is known for providing nothing but quality. With its distinctive cosy, low ceilinged interior and black and gold colour scheme, Harry���s Bar is the perfect setting for the local employees from the City���s most gleaming offices, these discerning guests in particular hold the discrete and polite service of this popular institution in high regard. Choose from a number of cosy nooks and crannies in which to enjoy the excellent food that has made Harry���s Bar a favourite lunch and dinner spot. Combining British and Modern European dishes, the menu delights every diner, every time.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner in the CIty”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had a nice meal here. The chicken entree was much better than the fish. One in the group had the calves liver and loved it (not for me). If you can't go up and down stairs-- don't go here. The restaurant is down a pretty steep set of stairs and we actually witnessed a nasty fall while we were there. Overall-- pretty good and service was nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    79
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
263 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very lively”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Went there for lunch and had a good meal at the bar. It's full of atmosphere and for sure a place to go for lunch. Food was as expected which means nothing special but still fine. The four is for the cosy ness and atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in the City of London”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My friend and I went on a 50% food discount deal, and we could not fault it. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, well presented and well executed. We shared the parwn and crayfish cocktail which was full of juicy shellfish. My friend had Tuna steak and said it was delicious. I had the calves liver which was soft and cooked to perfection, it came with creamy mashed potato, and we ordered green beans as a side, these were delicious and not hard like you get in a lot of places. We shared the rhubarb and ginger crumble which was scrummy.
This is a little oasis in the City and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarkingBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place with brilliant food!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Came to Harry's bar by recommendation of a friend who works in the city. The ambiance of the restaurant is very nice, so cozy, warm and welcoming. We had a great waitress, Lauren. She really knew the menu and was very attentive and fun. The food was good, had a salmon and shrimp starter, and the lamb for a main. The lamb was delicious! My husband had the soup and veal, both of which were great. I did take away a star on the value of the food, it was a bit overpriced for what it was. Overall though, we had a great evening at Harry's bar and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmartins67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Really great food and good value for money on the 50% off offer via top table - with the discount we paid £35 per head for three courses and a bottle of wine to share.
However, the service was slow when it came to dessert and the waitress was a little overzealous with the wine pouring (we had very full glasses!)

We both had the pigeon which comes a little rare for some but I loved it and the sauce was beautiful, then the venison casserole which was very rich and full of flavour.
The cheese plate is generous, although two of the three cheese are very similar in taste, it would have be better if there was more variety, but still lovely as is.

There's a lively atmosphere which is great for a meal friends and co-workers but would be too loud for a intimate dinner in my opinion.

Ultimately a nice restaurant which we will return to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmusedChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing