We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Henry J Beans - Wimbledon - CLOSED

Henry J Beans - Wimbledon
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sutton England
Level Contributor
404 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Less than impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked this for a works christmas party, some chose the traditional christmas meal and felt the sprouts were under done and the potatoes had been frozen and were not very tasty and the fruit salad came in a martini glass so was less than filling. The rest had the tree course buffet (not sure how that would vary from the £5 more expensive normal buffet) but it was a 'they bring nit out to you in some bowls' buffet rather than eat what you want. I was last in the line and half the first selection had gone before I got to it. The potatoe skins were empty, one dish didnt get replenished at all and I am sure we only got the ribs and sweet corn cos I complained. Not worth the £20 and defo not for the vegetarian guest who only had a choice of three dishes. We are looking elsewhere next year. On the plus side the dance floor seemed popular and the toilets were clean

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Harrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value cocktails and ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This place has recently benefited from some refurbishment and improved lighting and decoration. Best value on Wednesdays for the rack of ribs and two for one cocktails - really good value for money. At other times it's just average neither better or worse than the other numerous eateries on the Broadway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDGLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar man wants to bum old Asian men.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I waited patiently to be served but the polaish bar man fancied the Indians in suits ordering champagne and wanted to serve them first. Full of old ethnic guys perving over girls half they age. Drinks are over priced too £5.00 for a draught beer that's flat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank towf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Sneaky doubles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have been here a few times and always enjoyed it. However I find it terrible that they serve you double measures on drinks unless you ask otherwise. There are signs behind the bar warning about this but they're very small and barely readable, I find this a sneaky and irresponsible way of taking advantage of people and am surprised it's allowed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b1gb4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I went to this Pub/Restaurant for Sunday lunch. The food itself was very good, and the portions were generous. The glasses that the drinks were served in could have done with a better clean, but the food more than made up for that. We did not order a dessert as the main course of ribs were filling meaty enough.
It was also very affordable and the service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry J Beans - Wimbledon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing