We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”

Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue
Ranked #1,323 of 23,242 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Description: Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue a hidden gem in Bloomsbury. Al fresco tables on this pedestrian walk are highly sought after for warm days & balmy evenings, a perfect place to enjoy a meal & a glass of wine. In winter the open kitchen & the intimate dining areas are cosy & atmospheric. The quality of the food is always superb & the staff are friendly & informative. We believe in quality & for this reason we source the best & freshest ingredients & we cook to order. If you fancy something that is not on the menu, please do ask, we will always do our best to serve you your fancy!
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Enjoyed the restaurant two times during holidays. They have smaller portions of the menu card items for children on the children's menu at very reasonable prices. House wine is very good. Nice atmosphere inside but outside as well in Sicilian Avenue, a pedestrian area. Service is ok and basket of bread and cheese is served (on request) at no cost. Some wooden chairs inside are terrible, so choose your seat carefully.

Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

320 - 324 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've been coming here at the end of London trips for a number of years now, a consistent standard of good food, warm friendly staff and fair prices for london. Recommended.

Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We ate here using Tesco Clubcard vouchers and thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Admittedly the service was slow but the food made up for that. We both had a main meal and a dessert and the food was tasty, well presented, good portion sizes and good choice - more than the usual pizza and pasta. The restaurant is authentic, we were served by real Italians speaking to us in Italian - a nice touch.
Although we had vouchers we still thought the price was very reasonable for the meals we had, especially for London.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I probably wouldn't recommend this place given the wealth of Italian restaurants in this district that are almost certainly better and equally expensive. The food was certainly good, but the service was oddly slow given that it was not very busy when we visited. The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful, and did not apologize for the delays or explain what was going on.

Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I came to this restaurant with my family who were visiting London for the marathon. They were very excited about eating here. Unfortunately we had a terrible experience. When we entered the restaurant for our booking there was clearly something amiss with the communication between staff. Two waiters and a large older man who appeared to be in charge argued heatedly in Italian over our booking. During the loud, unprofessional argument we were left waiting for 10 mins at the door with no explanation as to what was going on. Finally they seated us downstairs, which was a small stuffy and uncomfortably hot. We we're put in the back corner and waited to order. The starters were all fine and came out in good time, however it was the main courses that were the real problem. My dad ordered veal and potatoes to find when he took a bite of a potato that it was rotten inside, the veal itself was swimming in sauce. My mum and sister both ordered lasagne which was bland and tasteless. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs, with the alluring promise of 'homemade meatballs'. There was hardly any sauce on the spaghetti and the meatballs were disgusting. Grey and processed. We were so so disappointed. Extortionately priced for such poor quality. It really put a dampener on what was otherwise a fantastic trip in London. Do not be fooled by the beautiful surroundings of Sicilian Avenue, this restaurant is not worth your time or money.

Thank jadiejuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeppinoEsposito, Group Operations Director at Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Jadiejuju
many thanks for your feedback.
We are disappointed to hear that on this occasion we have not met your expectations.
Your comments are valuable to us and we will discuss these with our team and manager.
We have checked details of your arrival to the restaurant and we have to confirm that no booking was made. As we were fully booked for the evening out team did their best to move tables and accommodate you and your family. It appears that the delay from arriving to seating was no longer than 2 minutes. All our dishes are prepared on site following our own recipes and using fresh ingredients. Some of the dishes you have mentioned are our best sellers and are normally highly commented upon. We will monitor these and quality and standards check are in place.
Finally we appreciate that this must have been a disappointing experience for you and we would welcome an opportunity to make amend.
Please contact me to discuss or write to me directly at pe@spaghettihouse.co.uk

best regards
Peppino Esposito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue also viewed


Been to Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing