We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hat and Tun

The Hat and Tun
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hat and Tun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,912 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Holborn
Description: The Hat and Tun is a traditional London pub laid out over one ground floor with oak panelled walls, taxidermy and a real working fireplace. The whole venue exudes a warm and inviting atmosphere. The charming oak bar serves the finest British real ales along with a great selection of wines and spirits. The Hat and Tun is open for lunch Monday - Friday serving traditional sandwiches, pies and British classics in a relaxed environment. A sophisticated board room upstairs is also the ideal space for a discreet meeting or intimate celebration.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“50th Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

A fantastic venue for a party, lots of atmosphere and friendly, professional staff.

I hired the Hat & Tun for my 50th birthday. It was a great venue and lots of my guests said that they really liked the traditional feel of the place. There was a good selection of food and drink to chose from. The staff were professional and friendly, especially Nadia and her brother Ljupco, who helped me make the party my own. I invited 80 people and it was spacious enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon13634256745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Manager at The Hat and Tun, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you at The Hat and Tun very soon.

Best wishes

Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    6
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pub for a private party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I hired the hat and tun to host my sisters hen party and we had such a great time. Nadia who is their party planner was so accommodating and created a delicious menu for us with three options per course to chose from. The bar staff were brilliant and kindly put our decorations up before we arrived. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced, they have a great wine list and we couldn't have asked for better service. They also have a fab sound system which is ideal for parties, I couldn't recommend the hat and tun enough
Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joey_mazenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Had better, had worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a nice little pub in Hatton Garden with a very typical pub feel - but it is part of ETM chain so one expects the food to be really good - sadly it is very average. Can't complain about the service except that the staff have all discovered how to avoid eye contact when you want to pay the bill. Probably wont go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Manager at The Hat and Tun, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Graham

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your food.

We would like to make it up to you so please send as an email or a contact number and our Operations Manager will be in touch.

Best wishes

Karen Proctor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went for lunch a few days ago and was really surprised. Firstly that this place existed as i thought I knew most of the pubs in this area and secondly how nice it was for a lunch. The beer was well kept and went well with the cottage pie, which itself was really tasty. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Medders6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not good service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We booked a table at 1pm on a Friday. Having ordered our food we waited 30 minutes before enquiring how long we had to wait and they told us they had not even started on our food. They did not apologise and it was not overly busy. They seem really unorganised and need some structure. Not a cool place to go if you are on a lunch break or indeed if you want to eat quickly. Poor servcie guys

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keogh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hat and Tun also viewed

 

Been to The Hat and Tun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing