We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXXXXXXPPPPEEENNNSSSIIIVVVEEE”
Review of The Met Bar

The Met Bar
Ranked #2,808 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$98
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Since it first opened in 1997, the Met Bar is among the best bars in Central London. Now without its original 'members only' policy, it has a new look, an expanded and innovative cocktail menu and fresh lunch and dinner menus featuring seasonal British classic cuisine. Tables are back-painted glass with golden highlights reflecting the natural light that floods through the glass wall. The evening brings a change of mood with the glass magically becoming etched, obscuring the vision from outside in. Open from 9am till 2am Tuesday to Saturday and until midnight on Sundays and Mondays.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“EXXXXXXPPPPEEENNNSSSIIIVVVEEE”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Was charged £43 for a £9 bottle of wine! simply not worth it - I'm glad I ate my body weight in "free" crisps to compensate!!

We also had afternoon tea for 3 during the day - this was nice but again for over £90 i would go to the Sofitel in St.James'

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDThomson, Manager at The Met Bar, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks indeed for your comments following your recent visit to our bar. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience and I am at your disposal should you wish to discuss this further with me.

I look forward to hearing from you. Should you need anything else at all from the hotel please simply let me know.

Warm regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Cocktails”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I hear London is the city for cocktails and this bar is right up there. Ingredients I have never seen that make you want to order more and more. Lovely

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tampaspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A nice quiet bar,with attentive staff who remember your name and what you drank the night before.

Scrumptious bar nibbles and plentiful too. Not overly expensive. A nice hotel bar for guests, not stuffy or noisy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chunkylongtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great drinks”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The drinks and atmosphere were excellent! We had drinks here before dinner on our first night at the hotel and kept coming back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amayzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, good drinks and food”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had some complimentary drinks from checking in to the hotel and they were great. The bartenders had a bit of flair which was nice for entertainment. Staff were very pleasant and great atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wongju21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Met Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing