We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaws Booksellers

Shaws Booksellers
Ranked #5,964 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$14 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Shaws Booksellers is a gastro pub with character in the heart of London's financial district. Its location makes it handy for those working in the area, or, with its close proximity to St Pauls Catherdral, the Tate Modern, the Millenium Bridge and the Museum of London, a great stop off or evening out for visitors wanting to try some quality British pub food. The pub itself is situated in a converted paper merchant's warehouse with a split level interior giving it a cosy feel. Food is served between 12pm - 3pm and 5pm - 9pm Monday to Friday and consists of some British classics and some continental European dishes.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I recommend Shaw's highly to have a few beers and soak in the atmosphere.

Stopped in after Evensong at St. Paul's Cathedral on a warm September evening. The place buzzed with well-dressed workers who mainly gathered outside to drink their beers. The bartenders, Sophie, Supa, and a lovely woman from Latvia whose name I did not get, were very friendly, attentive, and seemed to enjoy a good chat.

Had a few good cold (American-style) beers that it had on tap. We did not dine there, so cannot comment on the food, but we would have if we had not made other dinner plans. We plan to return on our next visit to London.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madarchangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clergy friends' lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

A few of us have been in the habit over the last few years of lunching here following the service at St Paul's cathedral on Maundy Thursday. This year once again we enjoyed good service and a very appetising meal. The restaurant is always busy; there is a real buzz of city workers, but the staff are always attentive and prompt. The quality of the food is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,575 reviews
787 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,212 helpful votes
“Huge portions - great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I was taken here one lunchtime and unfortunately even though we arrived early we were informed it was fully booked. Upon seeing our disappointment a lovely member of staff advised that if we could order within a few minutes of sitting down, then they could squeeze us in. I'm so pleased we did this as we had a lovely lunch.
I'd been advised that portions were huge, so we skipped starters. We each had a glass of red wine, along with one of the burgers and a lamb lasagne. The burger was one of the largest i've ever seen, with bacon, cheese, onions, pickles, lettuce and tomato relish. It was extremely thick and very tasty, it also came with the biggest portion of wedges i've ever seen! The lamb lasagne looked beautiful and very well presented.
It's not a cheap place to go £42 for 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine. However it is a great atmosphere, great service and very tasty food. Will certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty Food - nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Came here for a business lunch. Pleasantly surprised what you find in the back streets around St Pauls. A quirky, eclectic mix of furniture, wooden floor boards, chalk boards with menus on set the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Food was very tasty and there was a a reasonable choice. Presentation of the mushroom risotto I enjoyed, needs some attention. Flavour was fab, but you could be put off. Good wine choice, and nice wines available by the glass. My lunch partner was particularly thrilled by the draught 'Honeydew' lager. A lovely experience and one i would definitely go back to enjoy again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
854 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Busy pub near St Pauls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

One of several pubs in the area between St Pauls and the river, this is a good place to eat excellent food and good beers but try to pick a quiet time because it can be full of suits spilling out into the road given the density of the office space surrounding it. Closed on a Saturday but can be used for private functions when they will open just for you and your guests if you can guarantee a minimum level of spend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaws Booksellers also viewed

 

Been to Shaws Booksellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing