We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PICTURE PAINTS A THOUSAND WORDS!”

Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf
Reserve with OpenTable
Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,290 of 23,713 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf is a cool and intimate space that's all about the river. Inside, the buzzing basalt and blue steel bar leads through to the restaurant's floor-to-ceiling views. Outside, you're riverside, in sculptured gardens and deep, comfortable sofas for relaxed al fresco dining. Inside or out, the food follows a 'Just British' philosophy that showcases the season's very best ingredients. Scoff & Banter's signature dish is a succulent, 28-day matured rib eye steak, sourced from Dilon's farm in Ireland and served with juicy, grilled vine tomatoes, chips and peppercorn sauce.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Afternoon Tea on Easter Sunday - this photo says it all! Thank you to Nish, our super friendly waiter for a lovely afternoon treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TracyismyName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, General Manager at Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review , and for posting the photo up of the afternoon tea , we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us .

Thank you so much for especially mentioning Nish who we are rightly very proud off , as we are of all our staff .

I hope you can return to us soon , and maybe try our wonderful queen of hearts afternoon tea , an afternoon tea based on Alice in wonderland , and a real treat ,

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I booked my visit to Scoff & Banter over the phone with a wonderful lady who made a point of asking if it was a special occasion or if I had any requests, I specified that it was a birthday meal and I would like to sit at the window overlooking the river, she said it was no problem and would put it in the booking.

On arrival we were greeted by a less than interested waiter who didn't even ask my name for the reservation, took us to a table relatively near the window but right by a massive stain smeared all across which obscured the view. There were trays of food dotted around that had not been cleaned and the cold atmosphere made it feel like a swimming pool cafe.

We ordered two cocktails, only to be told they couldn't make them despite being on the menu so opted for cider instead, a small bottle of magners for £5.

The food was fine but nothing special and definitely not worth going back for.

We decided to make the most of our night and went for a drink in the bar. The atmosphere was much nicer, they played decent music and the seating was far less rigid and formal. We managed to order our cocktails in the bar despite being told earlier they couldn't make them and in the end had a pleasant evening.

Overall it was a decent, relatively well priced meal, the service for the most part was wonderful and staff were very attentive but the atmosphere let it down big time. Better lighting, a bit of music, and a less rigid canteen feel to the layout would make a big difference.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PWG153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, General Manager at Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review , and for your honest feedback which we really appreciate .

I am glad that you liked our bar area , but disappointed that we did not create the right atmosphere in the Restaurant , which is so important .

I have to be honest and say that we did not have the music system playing in the terrace , and we also did not adjust the air conditioning to a warmer setting , thus creating completely the wrong feel for your dinner .

This coupled with the indifferent welcome and the fact you were sat next to a glass panal that is to be replaced on Monday, means that your experience is not something we are proud off , but I assure you we have addressed everything and we are determined to get it right for the future .
I am sure if you return to us again soon , you would have a completely different experience.

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We took our Mother to this restaurant on Mothers Day. We were seated straight away and being early had our pick of the tables. We looked across the Thames to the 02 and with floor to ceiling windows had a great view. The waitresses were attentive and service was excellent, however there was a short period of time when there was no one to get the sauce we had requested earlier. The steaks and wine were superb as was the dessert. Scrumptious chocolate cake... All in all a very pleasant experience.
The reason I did not give this review an excellent score was the unsuitable piped music which is playing all the time a little too loudly. It is not what you would want to listen to on Sunday at lunchtime. So please take note Radisson bosses your Managers know best how to please your customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRSTEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, General Manager at Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review , and for your terrific comment comments regarding the staff and our food. , we are so pleased that you found everything to be first rate .

So many of our customers comment on the view ,after the extension we have just completed to the terrace area , it really is unique , and just adds to the overall experience , we think it is one of the best restaurant views in London .
We do take on board your comments regarding the music , which was set too loudly during your visit .
Music levels are louder at night to create the right atmosphere , but clearly not at the right level during your visit , and this has been reviewed

We hope to see you again soon

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very relaxed, comfy seating, great service reasonable prices and very nice cocktails. Food good quality.

Thank JanineDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, General Manager at Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the restaurant , and for your very kind comments regarding your visit with us. .
We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and that you found both our products and services to be both excellent in terms of quality and value .

I hope that it will not be long before you visit us again

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

limited menu but all very good food, beautiful views and friendly waiting staff, shame in this 'child friendly' hotel you could not provide a children's menu.

Thank charley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S, Manager at Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review , and for taking the time to post it on line .
We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit , and we appreciate your kind comments about the food and the staff .
I agree the view is wonderful , so many of our customers comment on it , it really does make dining in the terrace a great experience .
Thank you for you suggestion regarding the children's menu , I agree fully with you , and am delighted to say we are introducing one on 1st April .
We are focusing more and more on families , we offer children's party bags free of charge to diners , we have a selection of toys in the restaurant ,
We have a mobile candy carte , and we are launching an in house treasure hunt for children in the next few weeks .
I hope you will get a chance to come back soon and see all this for yourself .

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Scoff & Banter Canary Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing