We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New London Carlton Hotel
Ranked #316 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located on Maida Vale road this hotel is very well placed for cricket fans attending Lords, about 15 minutes walk away. Our bedroom on the road side was noisy enough to keep the windows shut but was clean, well furnished and relatively functional. There was a double bed and two bedside tables but only one bedside light so no reading in bed for one of us - a major drawback. The shower produced only warm water at 6.30 pm and the plug in the wash basin leaked requiring constant topping up. The knob on the shower door was missing so one had to open the door by grabbing hold of it on top. A very short person could be trapped in the shower! The TV remote would function within a metre of the set as the battery needed changing. It was indicated that breakfast would (only?) be served in the bedrooms but this was not so and, although we declined the meal, we passed the breakfast area when leaving and the arrangements looked very good.
With a little more attention by management this hotel could be a gem. It.s a pity that it failed on small points that attention to detail could have obviated.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

Sorry for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.


Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

The rooms were very clean and properly furnished despite the negative pictures posted. You get what you pay for with this hotel in terms of size but it's still very comfortable.

the staff were pleasant and accommodating although we had trouble with our tv the entire time (that's why I only gave if 4 stars).

very central location with easy access to the bus and to the tube station. On the down side, no laundry services.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I booked this with some trepidation because of the negative reviews - but clearly it has been refurbished and upgraded.
This place is clearly a mixture of self contained apartments and more traditional hotel rooms - but the quality and finish of my room was very good.
This place is smart and clean and 5 mins from Maida Vale tube which got me into Oxford circus in 10 mins.
Best of all the hotel offers onsite parking for £10 a day - which actually seems comparable. Overall the price (although objectively high) is still reasonable for London and compares well with the large chain hotel 200 yards up the road !
Overall I would recommend ignoring the older reviews and give it a go

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leark1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A small hotel on Maida Vale Road, on major bus lines, a couple blocks from a tube station, easy to get into central London, stores and pubs within easy walking distance, hotel staff very helpful. The room had a few problems which were taken care of, but hotel is clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, neat, good location, and I would stay there again. No fitness or business center, in room Wi-Fi, daily breakfast served but extra.

Room Tip: backside is quieter, but only a couple rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

stayed just one night but had a great stay. chose the hotel as there was parking on site and handy for the underground.
the hotel was clean and modern. the welcome was warm and friendly.
the room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed.
the continental breakfast, served in our room was plentiful.
would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j00ls2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in terms of accommodation, location and the service you received from our team. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you or taking the time to review your stay.


Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for a month with our small daughter when the move in date for the property we were moving too was put back. We enjoyed it so much we were actually sorry when we had to move out! It provided all that we needed and the staff were efficient, flexible and accommodating - especially Abdul on reception, who managed to sort out EVERYTHING that we asked for. Location is good - five minute walk from Maida Vale Tube and there is a bus stop right outside where buses and night buses take you down into the West End - our journey to school in W1 took less than 15 minutes. Paddington Recreation Ground is a few minutes walk, there are restaurants bars and local facilities in Maida Vale and if you walk less than ten minutes in the other direction towards Kilburn you have bigger supermarkets and shops. Little Venice, Lords, Regents Canal, Portobello Market and Westbourne Grove are all walkable. The hotel has a coffee bar, outside seating, secure parking and laundry facilities. All the local takeaways deliver too...in fact our first order after we'd moved out went there rather than to our new flat...once again, Abdul saved the day and redirected them to us! All in all we thought the New London Carlton offered better value than similar Central London serviced apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. The first floor rear rooms have French doors onto a flat roof - locke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jubejubearabaraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, General Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. The accommodation, location and the service you received from our team. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you or taking the time to review your stay.
I am also very pleased to hear that Abdul was such a great help to you.

Thanks once again for your review and I hope you return to The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Wembley Stadium as we were attending a concert there. It's walking distance to Maida Vale tube station so transport links are good to all the main attractions in London as well as Wembley. Check in was 2pm. The room was a very generous size (a nice change in London) with a separate kitchen, bathroom and dressing room within the apartment. A full selection of toiletries were provided in the bathroom. The bedroom was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We booked in for breakfast the next morning which was cooked to order and not buffet style. The only minor complaint was we had to wait a while as they were short staffed in the kitchen that particular morning but the chef couldn't be more obliging and brought us toast whilst we waited so we didn't really mind too much as we weren't in any rush. Check out time is 12pm which was nice for a Sunday lie in too! All in all it ticked a lot of boxes for us and I would certainly stay again. Price wise it is very reasonable for London at £138 per night (prices vary depending on rooms). Worth a look!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, General Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. The accommodation, location and the service you received from our team. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you or taking the time to review your stay.
Please accept my apologies for the wait you had with your breakfast order, but I am very pleased to hear that my chef was helpful.

Thanks once again for your review and I hope you return to The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#795 of 1,077 in London
1,012 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#705 of 1,077 in London
418 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Colonnade London
The Colonnade London
#379 of 1,077 in London
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Carlton Hotel

Address: 120 Maida Vale, London W9 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £71 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New London Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New London Carlton Hotel is a luxury apartahotel located in the heart of central London, providing corporate and individual visitors with a more spacious and carefree alternative to Hotels. The apartments offer a relaxed residence, a home away from home, but with all the facilities of a hotel. The New London Carlton Hotel is located close to the open spaces of Regents Park and Hyde Park as well as the shopping and entertainment facilities of the West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing