We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ignore any previous bad scores - its decent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New London Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New London Carlton Hotel
Ranked #279 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ignore any previous bad scores - its decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was a little concerned by the overall low scores the hotel had received but I wouldn't worry about them. Having stayed in various London hotels through the years, you are never quite sure what you're getting till you get there but this is ideal.

Its 10-15 mins by tube to the West End and the tube station is around a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Its on a busy road but we stayed at the back of the hotel and you wouldn't notice.

It was clean and spacious, beds reasonably comfortable.

Minor issues we had that stop it getting 5 stars.....

The shower was too small for me - I'm 6ft 3" and had to arch to get under the water
The heating was temperamental - it was noisy to start with, they did send someone up which helped and there was a separate heater in the room to help keep us warm. That meant it got very hot in the night.

You can tell its had some money spent on it recently and we would stay here again when we next need an overnight in London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelimepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The New London Carlton Hotel

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel.

Sorry about the inconvenience caused due to the noise from radiator and also due to the height of shower heads. Yes the hotel has gone through major renovation and the owners still continuing to invest.

Thank you once again for sharing a pleasant feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    48
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
27
54
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here in the October half term break,the room was excellent,very clean everything that we needed,plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 children aged 14 and 8. The beds were lovely to sleep in we had a double and a sofa bed which was just as good. It was a couple of stops on the tube to central London and it was a great base to use for exactly what we needed as 2 days of being tourists. Would use again. Great hotel at budget price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxFamily2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The New London Carlton Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel.

Your words of praise for the hotel are truly inspiring. The location of the hotel is indeed a good one for business.

Thank you again for sharing a pleasant feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, adequately furnished and a quiet location despite having a front room on a busy main road. The bathroom was disappointing as the sliding door didn't work very well and didn't completely close. The surprise was a kitchenette complete with microwave and well stocked with crockery and cutlery.

Room Tip: Family room sleeping 4 has two double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The New London Carlton Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with The New London Carlton Hotel and for taking the time to post your comments online.

We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are very pleased to note your appreciative comments on the hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again to The New London Carlton in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I have rated the hotel as excellent based on it being a 3* hotel, not comparing it with 4* or 5* hotels and based on my particular needs for a 3 night stay with my wife in the Maida Vale area of London. This hotel was situated 500m from where my son lives, who we were visiting for the first time in his new flat, so a better knowledge and feel of the area in which he lives was a high priority for us. The other concern the hotel was able to allay was parking, which is offered at an extra £10/ night, very reasonable for a hotel so close to central London. The hotel is situated on the busy A5. We stayed in a standard double room at £119/night (room only). Breakfast and snacks are available but are pricey. The room wasn't huge but was adequate for our needs. Some of the larger rooms have kitchenettes which make the preparation of breakfast and any other meals a lot easier. The bed was large, very comfortable and it also had very good pillows. The shower room was, again, small, but again, more than adequate, with a very powerful shower in a cubicle. There were tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer, a small TV/DVD and excellent, free WiFi. There was plenty of storage space, especially for our 3 night stay. The room was noisey, but a pair of earplugs solved the problem. Perhaps rooms to the rear of the building would have been quieter, but we had no complaints. The nearest tube station is Maida Vale on the Bakerloo line, about 600m from the hotel. The tube station is situated amongst a wide range of shops, pubs, coffee shops and banks, with lots of on-street parking priced at £1.20 an hour. The tube takes about 15 minutes to get to central London. What staff we saw (reception is staffed 24 hours a day) were pleasant and friendly. I would certainly return to this hotel for a short break in the future, surely a good enough recommendation for anyone.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The New London Carlton Hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel.

Your words of praise for the hotel and the staff are truly inspiring. The location of the hotel is indeed a good one for business.

Thank you once again for sharing a pleasant feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

And we could not have picked a better Hotel. Staff were really friendly, the Apartment, at the back of the Hotel, ground floor everything we needed and more. Spotlessly clean, Clean good quality towels daily, Comfortable beds, Self contained kitchen. 15 minute walk to the Tube, 2 stops from Paddington Station. On our final day, the Manager looked after all our luggage until 4.30pm so we could enjoy the glorious sunshine and go shopping.
Fantastic. Would recommend to all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as it is on a Main Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barcelonagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak R, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stay a lot in really nice 4 star hotels etc with work and stuff but needed a very last minute room (day before) for after a show (had originally planned on coming back) and aboslutely nothing was available that didnt look a total £50 a night fleapit or £250 plus for some very modest places that normally I would pay £110 a night for. This was the one exception that popped up.

It isnt flash and isnt the best looking hotel but in a reasonably pleasant leafy area. It doesnt have a nice reception or bar etc, just really rooms--- but the rooms were very clean indeed, pretty ok furnished, everything worked, bed was perfectly comfortable and nice bedding and the overall decor was quite nice too and tasteful. Clean little kitchen with fridge ,decent bed, couple of armchairs, ironing board and iron, decent shower-all very acceptable in the budget range. Ive stayed in worse 4 stars if just the room was taken into account. We had room 31. the staff were also very pleasant. A decent little budget find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EsotericKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time. Very soon we will be opening a small bar next to the reception area.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

the room was very clean it had a kitchen and a small bathroom the bed seemed to be at an angle it was very noise not good double glazing the traffic was not good breakfast was good little more than I would pay but it was a special weekend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Manager-TNLC, Manager at The New London Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The New London Carlton Hotel. I am grateful for your feedback.

My team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time. Sorry about the noise issue but we will certainly look into this. We welcome all feedback at The New London Carlton Hotel as we constantly seek to improve the experience of our guests and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.


Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again at The New London Carlton Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#776 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Europa House
Europa House
#608 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#318 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Colonnade London
The Colonnade London
#276 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New London Carlton Hotel

Property: The New London Carlton Hotel
Address: 120 Maida Vale, London W9 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The New London Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New London Carlton Hotel is a luxury apartahotel located in the heart of central London, providing corporate and individual visitors with a more spacious and carefree alternative to Hotels. The apartments offer a relaxed residence, a home away from home, but with all the facilities of a hotel. The New London Carlton Hotel is located close to the open spaces of Regents Park and Hyde Park as well as the shopping and entertainment facilities of the West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The New London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing