We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soundproof facilities needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norbury Apart Hotel
Ranked #261 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Soundproof facilities needed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My first hotel, reserved ONE MONTH BEFORE my stay, has been cancelled, just THREE DAYS BEFORE my arrival, due to invalid card details (mine has no problem though). I was very upset and contacted right away the service center of the reservation site. Then they led me to this hotel, saying that travelers' rating scores "excellent" here. But I did not notice that it's more than 10 km away from the London city. You must count 20 minutes from Victoria station. But that's okay for me.
What bothered me most was that this hotel has no soundproof system, in particular, for indoor noise. The old wood flooring creaks on every step. You hear people walking behind your room door, above you (if you are on the ground floor), door slammed…
Once, I was awakened several times by unsleeping people. That was horrible !!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, do not go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hug075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel is situated down a side street with residential housing. The hotel has been converted from a large residential house and the rooms are of a decent size and reasonably well decorated and clean. We were greeted by a friendly manager who was very helpful and gave us all the information we needed.
In the room, there was a generous supply of 'resources' including coffee, tea, milk, fruit juice and biscuits. In addition there was a TV, an iron/ironing board, hairdryer and, most importantly, free Wi-Fi.
Downstairs there is a large communal area with a fully stocked fridge (bread, butter, jam, bacon, sausage, eggs, milk etc etc) plus biscuits, cereals etc etc. You have to make your own breakfast, but this isn't a major problem as you can choose when you eat and what you eat.
So all in all, lots of plusses to staying here.
Downsides? There is a local railway track right behind the property at the end of the garden and trains run until late at night and begin at 4.00 am in the morning (I know this as I was woken up). I suggest taking earplugs. The area around the hotel is very multicultural, similar I guess to Brixton and, rightly or wrongly, some people may feel uncomfortable there. However, we walked around the area without any problems.

Room Tip: At the front, and take earplugs in case you can still hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
346 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Hotel appears to be part of the FlexiStay chain and has similar good quality attributes. Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk away from the Norbury station, you can catch trains here to London Bridge (station). Service frequent. Get an Oyster card. Good large shared kitchen, cooking facility, etc. Save a lot of money by staying out of restaurants. Lots of Polish shops etc nearby, also Aldi. (I would prefer Tesco or Sainsburys) Trains run behind the hotel (some streak by, some accelerate or decelerate) but I never noticed, always slept well.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to train noises, try to get something closer to the front. Pleasant quiet resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Room was clean and nice, had a fridge in it and a TV. It took about 20 minutes to get to Victoria station with a full stomach of the English breakfast you cook yourself. Tea, coffee and chocolate was always available, also cereals were available. The caretaker allowed us to check in when we were able to get there. We arrived around 2 and 5 am.
We loved our stay and the possibility to eat a great breakfast before you head to London makes the commute totally worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristján T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Small budget hotel, very good for a short city trip. I did not expect in such a hotel so many facilities in the room - iron, hairdryer, fridge, TV, coffie/tea... Very interisting concept for making your breakfast by yourself. There is no big variety, but the food was of great quality.The indian guy who is take care of the hotel Very friendly at all times,really he was attentive and very welcoming. A short walk from the train station, taking about 20 minutes to Victoria. It is in some immigrants area with a number of stores and restaurants opened till late in the evening.”

My next stay will be in the same place definitely!”

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E A Matthews M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were looking out for a place not too far from London, but well connected and within our budget - we were lucky to find the Norbury Crescent. Rooms are large with all the standard facilities, the breakfast was excellent (you need to cook your own eggs and bacon, they provide the goods), the tube is a 3 minute walk (20 minutes by train to London Bridge), plenty of restaurants nearby - overall a great place. Highly recommended if you don't want to shell out a fortune on a hotel in Central London.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Rather than a traditional hotel or hostel, this accommodation in Norbury appears to be a regular residential house being used to accommodate guests. IINM, there are 8 rooms altogether, 2 on the lower floor, 6 on the upper. The lower floor also has a small reception desk at the entrance, a laundry room, room for the gentleman taking care of the hotel and a common breakfast room and kitchen. There are a few mixed reviews here, so I'll try to elaborate.

There are two types of rooms (not sure about how many of each) - with either a private or shared bathroom. We had the private one.

The room is well suited for budget travelers, with no frills, but included amenities such as iron, ironing board (not that we used them, but someone staying for a longer period might), kettle, complimentary Capri Sonne juices, tea, etc.

The bathroom was rather unconventional - the wash-basin with mirror was in the room itself, only the toilet and shower were behind closed doors - which was not a problem. What was worse, however, was the condition of the bathroom (we didn't mind the room, it was clean). There was mould in the shower, it was very cold in this shower/toilet room as there was no radiator or heater and the window wasn't airtight (again, applies only to the bathroom, no problem with the temperature in the room) and the water pressure and setting the correct water temperature was a awful. So, basically, it's questionable, whether it was really worth it paying the few extra pounds for the private shower/toilet. Some renovation would definitely raise the standard in this hotel greatly.

Now on to the good points. We really liked the do-it-yourself type breakfast. There's a fridge with: ham, bacon, sausages, eggs, ketchup, mayonnaise, jam, cheese, bread, juice, milk - all in plentiful supply. In addition to that, there are some cereals, biscuits, hot chocolate, tea. And you prepare the breakfast yourself in the fully-equipped kitchen and wash-up after yourself. At first we were a bit worried that it would be crowded, but it wasn't really a problem - there's only a small chance that someone else is using the frying pan when you want it, for example. Also, there wasn't any time restriction for the breakfast, we also used the microwave to heat some of our own food in the evening.

And the staff - an Indian student that takes care of the hotel - is also one of the strong-points of this hotel. Very friendly at all times, he explained everything to us when we came in, carried our bags upstairs, and even shared with us a delicious curry that he was cooking one evening after we mentioned that we love Indian food :) better service than in some much fancier hotels.

We didn't really have a problem with noise. The walls are quite thin, but I guess we had quiet housemates :) You could occasionally hear a train passing by (the rail track isn't far from the house), but again, didn't disturb us at all.

The location is in Norbury, with a travel time to central London about 1 hour.

Difficult to give a final verdict, considering the good experiences mixed with the not-so-good bathroom. But it's certainly worth considering for travelers not looking for a fancier, more expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
A to B Hotel
#412 of 573 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Paradise Accommodation
#272 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#127 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Antigallican Hotel
#284 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
MStay Hotel 43
#111 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbury Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbury Apart Hotel

Property: Norbury Apart Hotel
Address: 49 Norbury Crescent | Norbury, London SW16 4JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Norbury Apart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes’ train journey from central London, the stylish Norbury Aparthotel offers free Wi-Fi. A free self-service breakfast and free laundry facilities are also available. Each spacious, modern room at the Flexistay Norbury ApartHotel includes a flat-screen TV, refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests share a comfortable lounge and a fully equipped kitchen for self-catering. Norbury Rail Station is a 3-minute walk away and offers access to London Victoria Train Station and central London attractions. Norbury town centre and Norbury Park are both under 5 minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norbury Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing