We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty bad!!!”

Henry's Cafe Bar - Piccadilly
Ranked #3,158 of 22,692 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Henry's is an iconic cafe bar on Piccadilly (adjacent to Green Park Tube Station) that's been pouring great tasting drinks and food to dine for since 2000. Open from breakfast till late, our bar and table-service provides the perfect place for friends, groups, work colleagues and tourists to enjoy a good range of both British and international drinks; with breakfast, lunch, grazing platters and dinner options to enjoy. We've pavement cafe tables outside, along with areas which can be pre-booked for social events and corporate gatherings. See you soon we hope. Henry. x
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“pretty bad!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Having eaten here regularly for the past 10/12 years, and always had a really good meal, we had no hesitation in taking a friend visiting from Austria there but were so disappointed in the meal. There was a notice on the menu stating that due to problems with equipment some meals were not available but to be honest it would have been better if all meals had been taken off until the problem had been resolved. I had the salmon and sweet potato fishcakes but all I got with them was a bowl of mixed leaves, a few slices of cucumber and 2 halved cherry tomatoes, no dressing, a truly vile meal. My husband had pork schnitzel which was so overcooked it was almost cremated and our friend had steak and ale pie with some very pale chips. I ordered a mini lemon and lime mousse that came to the table still frozen they did provide another one that had been defrosted but to me it was more cheesecake than mousse. Will certainly not be eating here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank faefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    207
    106
    42
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How bad can a place get?”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have been to Henry's cafe multiple times over years, although the atmosphere and the service is always ok, the food, well not really sure how to describe what I had last week, I have over the years always ordered their share platters for the reason they used to be good tasting and good value for money, last Friday we had a meat and fish platter, I cant begin to describe how tasteless and awful it was.
If I ever go again, will stick to just drinks. Oh and be aware of bag snatchers, a friend of mine got her handbag pinched there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Would describe it as a pub that does food, albeit really good food. Good service in a great location opposite green park tube station. Great for Buck Palace, Piccadilly and Regent street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manchester_tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice place to try English food”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Was here couple of times with my friends. Food is always very good and service is really fast and super-friendly. It is really good located and I would definitely recomend it for those who look for a lunch or dinner. Tried pie and a steak - was really good. And of course beers :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Business Lunch Place”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Henry’s is a fairly typical West End gastro pub. I visit it every 3 months or so to have lunch with a friend who works nearby. It’s also an option if we are visiting the Royal Academy. The staff are always friendly and accommodating and there’s always plenty of room to spread out. I usually have the Chicken Caesar Salad but gave it a miss on this occasion as they have started adding capers. So I had the cod and chips which was pretty bog standard. It’s a reliable and pleasant place and is just the job for a business lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OFVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Henry's Cafe Bar - Piccadilly also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Cafe Bar - Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing