We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”
Review of London Showboat

London Showboat
Ranked #1,516 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$85 - US$103
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best night in town is on the river! A three-and-a-half-hour cruise from Westminster Pier in central London down the River Thames towards Canary Wharf and the Thames Barrier with welcome drink, four-course dinner, live singer and dancing. You'll wish the evening would never end. The boat departs 7.45Pm from Monday to Sunday (except Christmas Day 25th December and New Year's Eve 31st December) throughout the year.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

On Sunday night I treated my boyfriend to the showboat dinner cruise, could have been so much better.
We had a great table by the window with great views, but no access to get out so everyone on the table has to get up to let you out for the loo or to dance, even the waitresses have to pass the meals along the table. The meal was not good, no choice salmon to start which I don t like then a very very thick no taste soup, wasn't quite sure what it was then someone said pumpkin(not a general choice for soup) so left that as well, followed by heated up chicken and then chocolate pudding not to good either, Shame as such a nice evening with great music and dancing, but a lot to PAY for this sort of heated up food. maybe a buffet would be much better? WOULD LOVE TO HEAR FROM THE CHEF? not sure what a tourist would think of this rubbish food not a good first impression for UK.?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    58
    12
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab Night on River Thames”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Celebrated our 20th Anniversary on the Showboat, we had a fantastic time, it was an amazing experience. The four course meal was lovely; the staffs was excellent, entertainment was great.We enjoyed it very much; will definitely return again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DONDIA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I went on the Showboat in August 2013 and really enjoyed it! The views from inside the boat were fantastic, and our table was right next to the window which made it even better. The four course dinner was very tasty, both the vegetarian and non-vegetarian options, and the live music was really enjoyable and created a lovely atmosphere. The top deck was open all night too, which was great for some fresh air and to get a better look at the sights of London, which were lit up beautifully. We were really pleased with the experience and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank herecomesthesun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow what a fantastic evening!!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My friends and I went on this cruise in July 2013 it was fantastic!!
The food was amazing, the entertainement was amazing and the atmosphere was amazing!!! We would all definitly go again and would highly recommend this to everyone!
London from the river at night is beautiful!
Wow what an evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Showboat atmosphere.......superb!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a great night out what with the sun beating down on London, made our experience even more spectacular.
fantastic colours in the sky made the pictures even more stunning.
The service was very good, friendly, quite mixed nationalities and we read the website in advance so we knew what food we were getting and guess what......no dog food LOL!
The boat quickly filled with atmosphere created mostly in part by the singer who included everyone with his jazz,swing and shows selection and set the tone for a wonderfully entertaining night out.
After the singer came the dancing, not much room on the dance floor but we found a place, the Australians next to us were loving it. Bar tariff is not OTT quite reasonable for London prices.
Will recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Showboat also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to London Showboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing