We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK roasted duck”
Review of Gold Mine

Gold Mine
Get food delivered
Ranked #1,972 of 24,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Notting Hill
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

Super crowded Chinese restaurant especially around weekends. It’s known for the Cantonese style roasted duck. They could even de-bone the duck free of charge. Duck was ok. Other dishes were quite average. It might be better one amongst Chinese restaurants in London, but certainly not impressive if compared to those in Asia.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank josepht203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

Nice,delicious food. A must visit whenever I'm in London.
Service is good,however must try to avoid peak hours as waiting time for seats might be long

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Chee Meng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 September 2019

We made a reservation at Gold Mine for dinner today at 630pm for 6 pax one day before knowing that restaurant is very popular. Four of us arrived at 625pm and was told by service waiter take we had to wait outside the restaurant as NOT ALL 6 of us are present. He told us this is rage rule here !!! In the mean time there were walk in customers where the service waiter admitted them as long as all dinning guests are there. I find this totally unreasonable and unacceptable as the restaurant is only maximizing the table turnaround by doing this and very unfair to those who bother to make reservations. This is stupid and unacceptable system !

When we finally got into restaurant and ordered our food total of 8 dishes, ALL the 8 dishes all were served at same time filling up the entire table. We had to clear the tea pot and shift some dishes in order to accommodate all the 8 dishes at one time. Wonder if this is a FAST FOOD restaurant.

Had a very UNPLEASANT EXPERIENCE dining in Gold Milne. Only saving grace was that the duck was good. Think the restaurant had become very complacent as their business had be too good and taking many customers for granted.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ericlian728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2019 via mobile

Made reservation for with family & friends as read so many good reviews. The roast duck is excellent as the skin is crispy, meat juicy & succulent. The roast pork and steam egg dishes also very good. The service warm & friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank RickFun35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Had a meal with 3 other friends here, and we order a total of 4 dishes, with a whole piece duck being one of them. The duck was roasted to a perfect crisp, and the sauce was fragrant and salty. Simply tasty!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank thetravellingleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Gold Mine also viewed

 

Been to Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.