We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #687 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Water”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed in the top floor room which was up the smallest pokiest little stairs you have ever seen. I stayed here for business meetings and there was no water in the morning to be able to do anything. I called reception and they said if I waited then the water may come back. I waited for another half an hour or so and then tried it again and it still didn't work. I went down to breakfast without being able to freshen up in the hope that the extra time may get some water through. I can only assume there is some type of water tank system. After breakfast I returned to my room to find there was still no water.
Luckily I had a glass of water on my side table which made it possible for me to brush my teeth. As I had run out of time I left the hotel leaving my contact details and they have made no attempt to contact me. I wrote a letter explaining the situation and I have had no response. I recently called them and the "Manager" was very rude and complacent.
It is a legal requirement to be supplied with water and I would have been happy to accept a single nights refund which was not fit for purpose however I believe this is now insufficient.
The water system must be upgraded in the hotel to service the guests requirements.

Room Tip: Tip: Book into a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jiawjiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    112
    89
    36
    46
See reviews for
51
132
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at ABC for two nights and had I not paid in full on arrival, before seeing the room we would have moved to one of he many Hotels around the area.

We were placed in a double behind the reception, we had been moved from a second floor room as it was abvious that my wife would not have been able to make the stairs.

The room it self was not small but was very poorly designed.
The double bed was placed up against he window so that we both had to get in the bed from the same side.

The curtain would not fully close and the bright light outside the front door light up the room all night.

The TV and "SKY" box was fixed to the wall at the bottom of the bed so that even when we moved the bed a little way from the window you could not get passed it.

When switching on the TV it required a nack of quickly selecting the Aux option. So we had to leave the TV on all night once the SKY box was turned off so we could get morning TV.
One of there adverts said that they had SKY TV, this was the box but there was no card installed so only free channels were available.

The bathroom was small with knees against the door when you sat down on the toilet.

The tea making facilities (kettle) could not be used unless we placed in on the floor on the other side of the room.

Breakfast was a bit strange with swissroll and cheap liver pate on the menu. The only cooked options were baked beens, scrambled eggs and hard boiled eggs.

They had a notice on their board that said you could get a cheaper taxi if you booked at reception. So as we were going to a show we booked. Whilst it was a nice car unfortunatly the driver did not know where our Theatre was (not a unknown one). When we arrived we were charged £20! The return journey we decided to use a Black Cab and got back for £17.
Whe I complained I was given back £3 from reception but we left with a bad taste in our mouths and could not get out quick enougth.

We will not stay here again even at half the price. Whilst it was cleen it was not comftable.

Room Tip: Check the room before you pay for your stay. Make sure you can get into both sides of a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneFrank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Brilliant customer service from staff at this hotel - will always endeavour to use them for any guests I have coming from abroad. Gulsam was very helpful and assisted me throughout the booking process. Loved the stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqeela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel such such a small bedroom, but when in London the sightseeing is more important.

Very clean, and the staff were very welcoming.

Breakfast good, and plentiful (no meat).

Would definitely stay there again. Good base, and close to Paddington tube.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 30Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent. There were several bus stations near to the hotel. The downtown was very close to it. The hotel was clean, the staff was very kind. The room was beautiful but I found it too small.
Generally we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazsi895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I've just returned from a 10 night stay at the ABC Hyde Park hotel and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is great and convenient. The tube station is very close and there are cafes, restaurants, and shops all around this area. All of the receptionists were amazing, especially Gulsam, who was very friendly and accommodating. For the price, you can not find a better deal. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. I am going back to London in June and will definitely be staying at the ABC Hyde Park hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhperez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed two times in the ABC Park Hyde Hotel and am very pleased to come back for the third time. The rooms are not too big but big enough and clean (!). The staff is friendly and helpful. It's a not a big hotel, but that's what I liked about it, its more personal. The breakfast was good (toasted bread, omelette, boiled eggs ect). Of course you have the street noise of cars passing by but that's a part of London. I thought it was close to the centre and especially the many busses that stop a few minutes walking from the hotel were a big plus for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#655 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#475 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#782 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#652 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#645 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#818 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC Hyde Park Hotel

Property: ABC Hyde Park Hotel
Address: 121 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #687 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ABC Hyde Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABC HYDE PARK HOTEL is an elegant Georgian House located only a short stroll from Hyde Park. ABC HYDE PARK HOTEL is one of the best value hotels in the area and its central location makes it an ideal base for exploring the capital. Many of London's most famous attractions and landmarks are within walking distance. Lancaster Gate and Paddington Stations with their excellent transport links are a mere stone's throw away. The Heathrow Express train can transport you direct from Paddington Station to and from Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes with the Heathrow Connect in 25 minutes Your “home away from home “while in United Kingdom, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, this hotel will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner successfully spearheaded for several years Well-placed in the sightseeing, shopping, restaurants area of London city, provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel has been refurbished not only to satisfy the exigent demands of today’s business travellers but also to provide a very comfortable retreat for today’s leisure travellers. A warm welcome awaits you at ABC Hyde Park Hotel. The hotel is recently refurbished with high standard of decor and comfort. This London hotel, which is of 2 star superior categories, offers some of the best London hotel accommodation in the area. Major Central London tourist attractions including Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens, Marble Arch, Edgware Road and Oxford Street are all within walking distance. The friendly and efficient staff will assist you in all your queries and questions about London. You can also book your tickets for guided London tours and other travel arrangements through their services. With great special offers, this small London hotel is well equipped to meet every traveller’s needs. The hotel has a reputation for a high standard of comfort and service that is what our valuable guests expressed in their reviews about our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your ABC Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing